Skip to main content

Resources for Finding Biomedical Images: Home

This guide provides links to medical image websites. Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images. Free usage of images is allowed on some sites for educational purposes, while others require that you ask permission or register before using the images.

Some of the databases licensed by MCW Libraries allow the use of images by authorized users for educational, non-commercial purposes as part of the license agreement. Authorized users are MCW faculty, staff, residents, and students; Froedtert Health staff and providers; and Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin staff and providers, unless otherwise indicated. The vendors have strict requirements to include the image source and keep intact all copyright and other proprietary notices. The use of images for original research articles, book chapters, or conference presentations are usually prohibited in the license agreements so individuals must contact the Permissions Department of the vendor directly to request permission to use the images in such instances.
 
Please note: Images obtained from other websites cannot be used on InfoScope nor on MCW public web pages unless explicit permission is obtained from the source. For example, it would be violation of copyright to download an image from Google Images and upload it onto an MCW department web page without also obtaining permission.

Resources from MCW Libraries

All resources are available on the All Databases page. Electronic books are excellent sources for quality images!

AccessEmergency Medicine | AccessMedicine | AccessPediatrics | AccessPharmacy | AccessSurgery 
Images from textbooks are viewable in context within the books or can be searched by keyword via the Advanced Search option.  Click on the Download Slide (.ppt) link to download the image directly into PowerPoint with the required source information and proprietary notices. See the McGraw-Hill Medical FAQ for the usage terms for authorized users under the MCW Libraries subscription license. 

A MyAccess Profile Account is required by authorized users to save images in My Favorites and bulk download selected images into one PPT file for use in presentations. It is necessary to create the account while accessing any of the MCW Libraries Access subscriptions. A Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries branding button should be displayed on the top right of each page. Click on this button to create a profile account or sign into your account.  

ClinicalKey
Includes a large collection of searchable images from clinical and basic sciences textbooks. The MCW Libraries subscription license permits authorized users to print or download content from the site for your own personal, non-commercial, informational or scholarly use, provided that you keep intact all copyright and other proprietary notices. See the ClinicalKey Help FAQElsevier Website Terms and Conditions and the ClinicalKey Book PDF Policy for more information.

Search for images by choosing Multimedia from the All Types dropdown menu to the left of the main search box, entering keywords such as Krebs Cycle in the search box, and filtering by Source Type (Images), Specialties, or Date. Tip: Choose Medical Education under Specialties to restrict to images used in textbooks.

Browse images by choosing Multimedia under the More dropdown menu located below the main search box and filter by Media Type (Images) and one or more specialties if desired. It is also possible to view images within a specific book.

A ClinicalKey Account is required by authorized users to utilize the Presentation Maker to export the images into PowerPoint. Presentation Maker will automatically insert citation information, copyright, and proprietary notices for each exported image. See our ClinicalKey Information page for important account registration instructions and our brief video tutorial: How to Download Images from ClinicalKey for Educational Purposes.

Red Book® Online
Includes Visual Library collection of 2,700+ infectious disease images for use in diagnosis and presentations, including clinical manifestations, disease vectors, and etiology from the American Academy of Pediatrics. Authorized users may download images and slides for the purposes of research, teaching and/or private study and never for commercial uses. It is not permitted to remove, obscure, or change any copyright notices, author identification, disclaimers or other proprietary legends incorporated in the Licensed Materials. Please see 2.3 Authorized Users’ Use and 2.4 License Restrictions of the institutional license agreement for additional information.
 
Find images by entering keywords in the search box and limiting to Visual Library or click on the Multimedia Library dropdown menu and choose Visual Library to browse images. Click on the Download .ppt link to download the image/slide directly into PowerPoint along with the source, copyright, and proprietary notices.

ScienceSlides Online
Includes over 3,000 biomedical slides that can be used for lectures, presentations, and publications. The subscription license permits MCW users to edit the slides in PowerPoint for specific needs. The slides have numerous individual components, which makes customization very easy. Access is available via the MCW network.

VisualDx
Features more than 25,000 medical images that may be used by authorized users for personal clinical, educational, or research use including consulting with individual colleagues, patient education, and personal lectures or other teaching materials. When using an image or Sympticon™ from VisualDx, leave the copyright watermark intact and include the source reference. See VisualDx Image Use Policy for important instructions and restrictions.

Electronic Journals
Some journals have images available from published articles that are searchable. Check the journal to see if images are searchable. The following journals have images (please visit the E-Journals List for a full list of journal links):

NEJM – Original articles are available as PowerPoint slides. This not part of our institutional MCW subscription. If you want to download the slides, you must pay NEJM.
BMJ – Images in articles are available in PowerPoint for teaching.
JAMA- Download figures and tables with captions and logos onto PowerPoint slides (download slides from full text article view) for teaching.

MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300

Contact Us
Locations & Hours
Send Us Your Comments