LibGuides: MCW-Central Wisconsin: Library Resources

Welcome New Students!

Top Recommended LibGuides

This short list was created to provide you with more extensive information on the following topics. Please select from the list below for more:

Anatomy Resources
Anatomy books and databases provided by MCW Libraries and beyond.
Board Review Resources
Find links to USMLE and specialty board review books and self-assessment resources.
Literature Searching
Learn more about how to use library resources to search for clinical information.
Evidence Based Medicine
Information and resources about using EBM in patient care.
Citation Managers
Learn more about the citation managers that MCW Libraries provides training for.
How Do I...?
Find out how to access and connect to MCW Libraries resources, as well as information about finding articles and books in our collection.
Writing Resources
A curated list of resources to help MCW students with their academic writing.
Request Materials
Learn about requesting articles, book chapters and books from MCW Libraries.

Search MCW Libraries Catalog for E-Books

Recommended Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 100 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, videos, interactive self-assessment, cases, drug information, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
- This link opens in a new window
Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Content covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. View books, procedures, videos, image library, drug database, board review resources and more.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window Used to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. You can read articles, export article information to a citation manager, and create a customized bookshelf of journals.
- This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
- This link opens in a new window
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
Lexicomp Online (MCW Only) This link opens in a new window Get quick access to drug information, lab and diagnostic procedures, diseases and conditions, patient education and more. Includes add-on access to Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference. Web-based MCW only subscription sponsored by the School of Pharmacy.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Search MCW Libraries collections of journals, electronic and print books, and archival materials, and perform searches in databases such as MEDLINE, ScienceDirect and Academic Search, as well as the collections of libraries worldwide.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window The PubMed Clinical Queries Page is designed to filter one search by three clinical research areas: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics
PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window With DynaMed, clinicians can easily search, browse, and follow the topics and specialties that matter most to them, and get fast, actionable answers to their clinical questions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
- This link opens in a new window
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.

Check out all of our databases!

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a free browser extension that gives you one click access to scholarly articles. Installation is as easy as clicking download for your particular browser and selecting your institution. See the LibKey Nomad tab for more information on how to get started!

Journals

Use BrowZine to access and browse e-journals from MCW Libraries. With BrowZine you can read articles, export article information to a citation manager, and create a customized bookshelf of journals.

Volunteer and Adjunct Faculty Access

MCW Libraries uses OpenAthens to connect users to library resources. Most MCW volunteer or adjunct faculty, and Froedtert and Children's Wisconsin employees, are eligible for access to MCW Libraries' subscription resources. Complete the registration form to request an account. After we verify your status, you will receive an email with access instructions.

If you encounter any problems, please contact the library here.

MCW-Central Wisconsin

In this LibGuide, you will find...

Reference Librarian

Central Wisconsin Resources