LibGuides: Health Systems Management and Policy Pathway: Library Resources

Recommended Databases

You may want to search a variety of databases to find different perspectives on your research project. These are a few places to get started.

In most of these databases, you can use the Get It From MCW Libraries button to connect to the full text of the article or to request a copy of an article through Library on Request.

PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Find full text for more than 2,200 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Search MCW Libraries collections of journals, electronic and print books, and archival materials, and perform searches in databases such as MEDLINE, ScienceDirect and Academic Search, as well as the collections of libraries worldwide.

Citation Manager

Citation managers are used to help you keep track of sources as you search for literature. You can collect source information from many different databases and websites, organize the sources into folders, and create bibliographies.

Instructional Videos

Getting More Out of PubMed
In this video, we present our top 5 tips for getting more out of PubMed.. 4:27
Literature Reviews & Library Resources: An Introduction
Covers the literature search process, from defining the question to citing the sources you ultimately decide to use. 13:40
more...less...
This short tutorial will introduce you to the basic steps of conducting a literature review from defining the question to citing the sources you ultimately decide to use. It will also highlight some of the MCW Libraries' and other resources that are available to help you with your literature review.
Proxy Server Bookmarklet
- This link opens in a new window
In this video, learn how to easily connect to MCW Libraries subscription resources from off-campus. 1:28

Journals

Use BrowZine to discover journals in the field of health care services - including policy and administration. You can add a journals to your personal bookshelf, sign in to your account and click ADD TO MY BOOKSHELF. Learn more about BrowZine.

Additional Journals

American Journal of Public Health
Health Affairs
Health Care Management Review
Health Policy
Health Policy and Planning (12 month embargo on full text access)
HSR Health Services Research
Inquiry
International journal of health care finance and economics
JAMA
Journal of Health Economics
Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law (12 month embargo on full text access)
Journal of Public Health Policy
Medical Care
Medical Care Research and Review (MCRR)
The Milbank Quarterly
The New England Journal of Medicine
Social Science and Medicine

* Subscription journals are available on the campus network or via the proxy.

AARP
Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy (AcademyHealth)
American Public Health Association
The Brookings Institution
Center for Studying Health System Change
The Commonwealth Fund
Employee Benefit Research Institute
FamiliesUSA
Grantmakers In Health
The Heritage Foundation
Health and Medicine Division (HMD) National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine; formerly the Institute of Medicine
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
Kaiser Family Foundation
Mathematica Policy Research
The Milbank Memorial Fund
National Committee for Quality Assurance
National Conference of State Legislatures
National Governors' Association
National Health Policy Forum
Rand
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Society for Medical Decision Making
The Urban Institute
World Health Organization

* Recommended journals and organizations taken from the Core Health Policy Library Recommendations list on the NLM website.

MeSH Terns

Controlled vocabulary terms used by PubMed and Ovid/MEDLINE. Use these terms in combination with others to create a thorough search. Learn more about MeSH in this short video.

Health Information Systems: A system for the collection and/or processing of data from various sources, and using the information for policy making and management of health services. It could be paper-based or electronic. Link to MeSH description.
Health Planning: Planning for needed health and/or welfare services and facilities. Link to MeSH description.
Health Policy: Decisions, usually developed by government policymakers, for determining present and future objectives pertaining to the health care system. Link to MeSH description.
Health Status Disparities: Variation in rates of disease occurrence and disabilities between population groups defined by socioeconomic characteristics such as age, ethnicity, economic resources, or gender and populations identified geographically or similar measures. Link to MeSH description.
Healthcare Disparities: Differences in access to or availability of medical facilities and services. Link to MeSH description.
Medicare: Federal program, created by Public Law 89-97, Title XVIII-Health Insurance for the Aged, a 1965 amendment to the Social Security Act, that provides health insurance benefits to persons over the age of 65 and others eligible for Social Security benefits. It consists of two separate but coordinated programs: hospital insurance (MEDICARE PART A) and supplementary medical insurance (MEDICARE PART B). Link to MeSH description.
Salaries and Fringe Benefits: The remuneration paid or benefits granted to an employee. Link toMeSH description.
Economics [Subheading]: Used for the economic aspects of any subject, as well as for all aspects of financial management. It includes the raising or providing of funds. Use this subheading in conjunction with other terms to find articles that concern this aspect. Link to MeSH description.
Organization and administration [Subheading]: Used for administrative structure and management. Use this subheading in conjunction with other terms to find articles that concern this aspect. Link to MeSH description.|