LibGuides: Pharmacy Resources: Drug Information Resources

Online Resources for finding Primary Literature

PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Scopus This link opens in a new window Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health database provides coverage of nursing and allied health related literature. More than 3,100 journals are indexed and full text is available for nearly 580 journals.

Online Resources for Tertiary Information

Lexicomp Online (MCW Only) This link opens in a new window Get quick access to drug information, lab and diagnostic procedures, diseases and conditions, patient education and more. Includes add-on access to Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference. Web-based MCW only subscription sponsored by the School of Pharmacy.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (FH/MCW only) This link opens in a new window Provides current, authoritative, comprehensive information on anti-microbial agents, infectious diseases, and commonly-encountered pathogens. Froedtert/ MCW subscription funded by Froedtert Health. Use only Froedtert and MCW work email addresses to register for an account.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
- This link opens in a new window
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive information about dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Subscription sponsored by the School of Pharmacy.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
- This link opens in a new window
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Comprehensive resource for pharmacy education and practice including books, multimedia, drug database, drug therapy cases, study tools, and more. Subscription sponsored by the School of Pharmacy.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 100 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, videos, interactive self-assessment, cases, drug information, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
- This link opens in a new window

DailyMed The official provider FDA label information (package inserts), a product of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Tertiary Resources

Drug Information Textbook

Medicine Textbooks

Monograph Book

Pharmacy Textbooks

Pharmacology and Therapeutics Textbooks

Special Tertiary Resources

Complimentary & Alternative Medicine

Intraveneous Compatibility

Laboratory Data & Information

Mental Health

OTC Products

Pediatric

Pregnancy & Lactation

Side Effects

Toxicology/Poisoning

Drug Information Textbook

Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists
E-Book: AccessPharmacy
Malone PM, Malone MJ, Park SK. Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists. 6th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education; 2018.

Medicine Textbooks

Goldman-Cecil Medicine
E-Book: ClinicalKey
Goldman L, Schafer AI, eds. Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier; 2020.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
E-Book: AccessMedicine
Jameson JL, Fauci AS, Kasper DL, Hauser SL, Longo DL, Loscalzo J, et al., eds. Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education; 2018-.
Merck Manual Professional Version
E-Book: STAT!Ref
Porter RS, Kaplan JL, eds. Merck Manual Professional Version. Whitehouse Station, NJ: Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp.; 2016

Monograph Book

AHFS Drug Information 2016
E-Book: STAT!Ref
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. AHFS Drug Information® 2016 58th ed. Bethesda, MD: American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; 2016.

Pharmacy Textbooks

Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy
Print: Stacks - QV 704 R388 2013
Remington JP, Allen LV Jr. Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy (2 vols). 22nd ed. Philadelphia, PA: Pharmaceutical Press; 2013.
Note: Course director decided to use the 22e rather than the upcoming 23e.

Pharmacology and Therapeutics Texbooks

Applied Therapeutics: the Clinical Use of Drugs
Print: Froedtert Stacks - WB 330 A651 2009
Koda-Kimble MA. Applied Therapeutics: the Clinical Use of Drugs. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2009
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
E-Book: AccessPharmacy
Katzung BG, ed. Basic & Clinical Pharmacology. 14th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education; 2018.
Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition
E-Book: AccessPharmacy
Brunton LL, Hilal-Dandan R, Knollmann BC, eds. Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. 13th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education; 2018.
DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, 12th Edition by DiPiro JT, Yee GC, Haines ST, Nolin TD, Ellingrod VL, Posey L.
ISBN: 9781264264544
Publication Date: 2023-03-21
E-Book: AccessPharmacy
DiPiro JT. Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach. 12th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education; 2023.

Special Resource: Complimentary & Alternative Medicine

Natural Medicines
Database:Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database, Somerville, MA: Natural Medicines; 2017.

Special Resource: Drug Identification

Lexi-Drug ID
Database:LexiComp
Lexicomp Online®, Lexi-Drug ID, Hudson, Ohio: Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2017.

Special Resource: Geriatrics

Geriatric Lexi-Drugs
Database:LexiComp
Lexicomp Online®, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs, Hudson, Ohio: Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2017.

American Geriatrics Society 2023 Updated AGS Beers Criteria® for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults
Beers Criteria for Drug Use in the Elderly, Updated in 2023

Special Resource: Infectious Diseases

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (FH/MCW only) This link opens in a new window
Auwaerter PG, Bartlett JG. eds. Johns Hopkins ABX Guide. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University; 2017. Available from https://www.unboundmedicine.com.

Netter's Infectious Diseases
E-Book: ClinicalKey
Jong EC, Stevens DL, Netter FH. Netter's Infectious Diseases. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier/Saunders; 2012.

Special Resource: International Drugs

Martindale: The Completed Drug Reference
Database:LexiComp
Lexicomp Online®, Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference, Hudson, Ohio: Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2017.

Special Resource: Intraveneous Compatibility

Trissel's IV Compatibility
Database:LexiComp
Lexicomp Online®, Trissel's™ 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, Hudson, Ohio: Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2017.

The following resource is not owned by MCW Libraries, but you may encounter it during your rotations:

King JC, Catania PN. King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures. [Online] Napa, CA: King Guide Publications, Inc.

Special Resource: Laboratory Data & Information

Basic Skills in Interpreting Laboratory Data
E-Book: Ebook Central
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Lee M, ed.Basic Skills in Interpreting Laboratory Data. 6th ed. Bethesda, MD: American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; 2017.

Special Resource: Mental Health

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5
E-Book: PsychiatryOnline
American Psychiatric Association. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5. 5th ed. Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Association; 2013.
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology 4e 2013
E-Book: STAT!Ref
Stahl SM. Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology: Neuroscientific Basis and Practical Application. 4th ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press; 2013.

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines

Special Resource: OTC Products

Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs
E-Book: APhA Pharmacy Library
Krinsky DL, ed. Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs: An Interactive Approach to Self-Care. 20th ed. Washington, DC: American Pharmacists Association; 2018.

Special Resource: Pediatric

Red Book Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of over 200 childhood infectious diseases.

The Harriet Lane Handbook of Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy
E-Book:ClinicalKey
McMillan JA, Lee CKK, Siberry GK, Carroll KC, eds. The Harriet Lane Handbook of Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Saunders; 2014.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics
E-Book: ClinicalKey
Kliegman RM, St. Geme III JW, Blum NJ et al., eds. Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 21st ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier; 2020.
Pediatric and Neonatal Lexi-Drugs
Database: LexiComp
Lexicomp Online®, Pediatric and Neonatal Lexi-Drugs, Hudson, Ohio: Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2017.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs: The Teddy Bear Book
E-Book: STAT!Ref
Phelps SJ, Hagemann TM, Lee KR, Thompson AJ, eds. Pediatric Injectable Drugs: The Teddy Bear Book. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; 2018.

The following book is not owned by MCW Libraries, but you may encounter it during your rotations:

Taketomo CK, Hodding JH, Kraus DM. Lexicomp Pediatric & Neonatal Dosage Handbook. 25th ed. Indianapolis, IN: Lexicomp; 2018.

Special Resource: Pregnancy & Lactation

Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation
Database:LexiComp
Lexicomp Online®, Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy & Lactation, Hudson, Ohio: Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2017.

LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
Find information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
ACOG Practice Bulletins
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
ACOG Committee Opinions
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Special Resource: Side Effects

Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
E-Book: ClinicalKey
Aronson, J.K, ed. Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs 16th ed. Waltham, MA: Elsevier; 2016.

Special Resource: Toxicology/Poisoning

Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies
E-Book: AccessPharmacy
Nelson LS, Howland MA, Lewin NA, Smith SW, Goldfrank LR, Hoffman RS, eds. Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies. 11th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education; 2019.

American Association of Poison Control Centers
Phone: 1-800-222-1222
Wisconsin Poison Center
Phone: 1-800-222-1222