Skip to main content

Urban & Community Health Pathway: Library Resources

Library resources for researchers in the Urban & Community Health Pathway.

Welcome!

This page contains recommended library resources for researchers in the Urban & Community Health Pathway. The PowerPoint from the MCW Libraries presentation is available for review below.

Recommended Databases

You may want to search a variety of databases to find different perspectives on your research project. These are a few places to get started.

In most of these databases, you can use the Get It From MCW Libraries button to connect to the full text of the article or to request a copy of an article through Library on Request.  Get It From MCW Libraries

Citation Manager

Citation managers are used to help you keep track of sources as you search for literature. You can collect source information from many different databases and websites, organize the sources into folders, and create bibliographies. MCW Libraries provides access to a citation manager called RefWorks. 

Instructional Videos

Journals

Use BrowZine to discover journals in the field of community health. You can add a journals to your personal bookshelf, sign in to your account and click ADD TO MY BOOKSHELF. Learn more about BrowZine.

Additional journals

 

* subscription journals are available on the campus network or via the proxy

Demographic Information

MeSH Terms

Controlled vocabulary terms used by PubMed and Ovid/MEDLINE, related to community health. 

  • Primary Health Care: Care which provides integrated, accessible health care services by clinicians who are accountable for addressing a large majority of personal health care needs, developing a sustained partnership with patients, and practicing in the context of family and community. Link to MeSH description​.

  • Community Health Services: Diagnostic, therapeutic and preventive health services provided for individuals in the community. Link to MeSH description​. 

  • Community Health Planning: Planning that has the goals of improving health, improving accessibility to health services, and promoting efficiency in the provision of services and resources on a comprehensive basis for a whole community. Link to MeSH description.

  • Community Medicine: A branch of medicine concerned with the total health of the individual within the home environment and in the community, and with the application of comprehensive care to the prevention and treatment of illness in the entire community. Link to MeSH description​.

  • Healthcare Disparities: Differences in access to or availability of medical facilities and services. Link to MeSH description​

  • Health Status Disparities: Variation in rates of disease occurrence and disabilities between population groups defined by socioeconomic characteristics such as age, ethnicity, economic resources, or gender and populations identified geographically or similar measures. Link to MeSH description.

  • Medically Underserved Area: A geographic location which has insufficient health resources (manpower and/or facilities) to meet the medical needs of the resident population. Link to MeSH description.

  • Minority Health: The concept covering the physical and mental conditions of members of minority groups. Link to MeSH description.

Websites

Books

Click the link to find books in the MCW Libraries' collection published within the past  5 years. 

Many of the books are available online. Click the View Online button to start reading! 
View online

Chat with a Librarian

Email asklib@mcw.edu

    (414) 955-8302

  (414) 367-9629

MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300

Contact Us
asklib@mcw.edu
Locations | Hours
Send Us Your Comments