Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Overview

Learn more about EndNote, a citation management resource.

NEW, updated AMA (JAMA) Output Style Available

A new 2020 edition of the AMA Manual of Style: a Guide for Authors and Editors has been published by the American Medical Association replacing the older 10th edition published in 2007.  An updated AMA output style based on the new 11th edition is available for EndNote to replace the JAMA output style that is based on the 10th edition.  Click here and scroll down the page for instructions to install the output style. 

Get Access EndNote

MCW  Staff and Faculty: If your department has purchased access to EndNote, log into MCW-IS Self Service with your MCW credentials, click My Software, and select EndNote, or contact your department's IS person to request a copy of the software.

MCW Students: log into MCW-IS Self Service with your MCW credentials, click My Software, and select EndNote.

Note: You must be on the MCW network to access MCW-IS Self Service.
If you run into problems installing EndNote, contact MCW-IS

EndNote Instruction

MCW Libraries can provide a limited amount of training for this product.

What is EndNote?

EndNote allows you to create your own database by importing references from online databases, and use these references to format bibliographies.

MCW Libraries does not have a subscription to EndNote.  A license for the desktop version of EndNote may be purchased from the Research Computing Center.

EndNote Basic (web) is a free limited online version of the desktop EndNote.  Your references are stored online instead of on your computer. Compare features and capacity between the two versions of EndNote.
Create and login to your own EndNote Basic account!

Configuring EndNote to Access Full-text Articles

EndNote will attempt to locate PDF's that match the records in your library, but first you will need to add some preference settings.

Access the Preference area in EndNote and add the urls listed below:

Select the commands: Edit -> Preferences -> Find Full Text

  • Open URL Path: http://mcw.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link
  • Authenticate with URL: https://login.proxy.lib.mcw.edu/login?url=

To retrieve the full text, select the articles in EndNote that you want the full text files for, and right click and select Find Full Text > Find Full Text.

EndNote Find Full Text

At this point, you should see the MCW Libraries Proxy server login page. Enter your login information and click Continue and EndNote will start retrieving articles. Any PDFs that are retrieved will be attached to the EndNote record and stored in the EndNote data folder.

Sharing

MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300

Contact Us
Locations & Hours
Send Us Your Comments