NIH Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP)

The NIH is working on harmonizing the requirements of the DMS Policy with this existing Genomic Data Sharing Policy. Genomic data sharing considerations should be described in DMS Plans using the DMS Plan elements and will be reviewed by NIH Program Staff.

This tool will assist in helping you determine which of the following NIH policies apply to a particular project.

​​​​​​​Information provided by NIH about what needs to be included in a Data Management & Sharing Plan.

​​​​​​​This checklist created by the NIH DMSP Guidance Working Group addresses the six required elements in the NIH policy.

This is a free, open-source, online application that helps researchers create data management plans (DMPs). The tool includes a template for the NIH DMSP and the DMPTool Blog provides up-to-date information on the DMPTool.

The NIH released this preview of the DMSP format and plans to provide a final fillable format version soon.

Provides points to consider and sample language for informed consent documents of research studies which plan to store and share data and/ or biospecimens for future use.

​​​​​​​Information provided by NIH about what needs to be included in a Data Management & Sharing Plan.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​This example DMP directory was compiled from researchers, institutions, libraries and workgroups who shared their data management plans online from 2012-2022. It is intended to help researchers comply with the new NIH policy and will not be updated after publishing.

NIH is constantly updating its FAQ page on the DMSP.

Includes NIH webinar recordings and registration information for upcoming presentations.

A comprehensive listing of all NIH activity codes that generally require applicants to submit a Data Management & Sharing Plan

This article provides 10 key recommendations for creating a DMSP that is both maximally compliant and effective.

NIH institutes and centers may have other data sharing requirements in addition to the NIH DMS Policy. Make sure to read your applicable policy carefully.

​​​​​​​While the NIH does not endorse or require sharing data in any particular repository, it does provide this list of repositories along with guidance on Selecting a Data Repository.

​​​​​​​NIH STRIDES aims to modernize biomedical research by reducing economic and process barriers in utilizing commercial cloud services.

De-identified data may need to be shared to adhere to the new NIH DMS Policy. Johns Hopkins’ provides this list of suggested tools, including the NLM Scrubber for Clinical Text De-Identification.

Provides an overview of ICPSR's NIH funded archives and recommendations for designating ICPSR for your data to meet the requirements of the NIH DMSP.

​​​​​​​NIH recommends reviewing this study in order to properly budget for data management and sharing costs.

Find out what data sharing related costs may be requested in an application for funding.

​​​​​​​This is a guide to terminology used in the NIH DMSP. It includes links to various resources for additional information.

​​​​​​​This resource is created and maintained by the NCDS and connects and defines concepts, services, and tools relevant to librarians working in data-driven discovery.

The goal of this guide from the Committee on Data of the International Science Council is to gather the key terms needed for a common understanding of the research data management domain.

​​​​​​​The National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences developed this glossary of terms related to rare disease communities in treatment development.