Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Please note: Children’s Wisconsin recently made a security software change and access to many of MCW Libraries’ electronic resources from the Children’s Wisconsin network is currently blocked. MCW Libraries is aware of the situation and is currently testing new models of access. To access resources blocked on the Children's Wisconsin network, login with your OpenAthens credentials or register for an OpenAthens account here.

Orthopaedic Surgery: Searching

Databases, journals, books and library tools for Orthopaedic Surgery

Intro

The following is a list of just some of the resources one could consider to search when conducting a systematic review of the literature. MCW Librarians are available to suggest databases, help you with your search strategy and to conduct searches for you!

Databases

Ask a Librarian

Need assistance with library resources or services? Ask a librarian! Librarians are available via chat, email, phone or texting during staffed hours. 

Grey Literature

What is Grey Literature?
Grey literature consists of studies produced by the government, industry, or other organizations in the form of reports, working papers, data sets, dissertations, fact sheets, policy documents or standards which do not appear in commercial journals.  Grey literature is usually not indexed in standard databases and can be difficult to find.  Grey literature should be consulted to reduce the risk of publication bias in the results of a systematic review.

Locating Grey Literature

  • Dissertations and Theses: Searches are librarian mediated at MCW Libraries via an online vendor with charges passed on to the requestor.  (This database is also available for individual searching at the Raynor Memorial Libraries at Marquette University.  For access to area academic libraries see information on the Cooperative Access Program.)
     
  • Grey Literature Report: A bimonthly publication of the New York Academy of Medicine providing information about grey literature in health services research and urban topics.
     
  • ProceedingsFirst: This database contains the tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide.  Searches in ProceedingsFirst are librarian mediated at MCW Libraries via an online vendor.  Charges are passed on to the requestor.  (This database is also available for individual searching at the Raynor Memorial Libraries at Marquette University.  For access to area academic libraries see the information on the Cooperative Access Program.)
     
  • MedlinePlus Organization Directory: A collection of organizations providing health information.  This directory is also arranged by topic.
     
  • OpenGrey: Search for grey literature from Europe.
     
  • Contact authors of key articles: Authors may provide access to unpublished work.
     
  • Hand Search Journals of Interest: Review the tables of contents in order to ensure no important studies were overlooked.
     
  • References from key articles: The references may contain pertinent articles that were missed during the original search.

MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300

Contact Us
Locations & Hours
Send Us Your Comments