Please Note: Froedtert Health has implemented a new security protocol which has resulted in the degradation of on-campus access to MCW Libraries' electronic resources. Users on the Froedtert network must sign in via OpenAthens when attempting to access electronic library resources (including UpToDate, VisualDx, etc.). MCW Libraries is aware of this change and is working to provide a permanent access solution. If you have MCW credentials, please sign in via MCW employees and students when prompted. If you are a Froedtert employee, click here to register for an OpenAthens account or view more information.
This LibGuide will be retired after July 31st, 2022. Please refer to our new Scholarly Pathways LibGuide and the Physician in the Community page found here.
Contact library staff if you have questions.
This page contains recommended library resources for researchers in the physician in the community pathway.
Citation managers are used to help you keep track of sources as you search for literature. You can collect source information from many different databases and websites, organize the sources into folders, and create bibliographies.
You may want to search a variety of databases to find different perspectives on your research project. These are a few places to get started.
In most of these databases, you can use the Get It From MCW Libraries button to connect to the full text of the article or to request a copy of an article through Library on Request. 
This link opens in a new window
Neighborhood Atlas: An online platform that helps researchers visualize socioeconomic data at the community level using information form the 2013 Area Deprivation Index (ADI), updated with 2015 data.
LIFE Report of Marathon County: 2019-2021: gives information and data depicting the quality of life in Wausau and Marathon County. The report is published every 2 years.
Community Health Needs Assessment – Fox Valley 2019, Children's Wisconsin: focuses on family and child health, health needs and access to services.
Site:.gov search in Google: find information information and data from local, state and national government websites, including the Census, NIH and greenbaywi.gov.
Wisconsin Department of Health Services: Data and Statistics: health disparities, disease data and statistics, data on public health issues
Healthiest Wisconsin 2020 Baseline and Health Disparities Report, published in 2014. Most information comes from 2010 census.
Controlled vocabulary terms used by PubMed and Ovid/MEDLINE, related to community health.
Primary Health Care: Care which provides integrated, accessible health care services by clinicians who are accountable for addressing a large majority of personal health care needs, developing a sustained partnership with patients, and practicing in the context of family and community. Link to MeSH description.
Community Health Services: Diagnostic, therapeutic and preventive health services provided for individuals in the community. Link to MeSH description.
Community Health Planning: Planning that has the goals of improving health, improving accessibility to health services, and promoting efficiency in the provision of services and resources on a comprehensive basis for a whole community. Link to MeSH description.
Community Medicine: A branch of medicine concerned with the total health of the individual within the home environment and in the community, and with the application of comprehensive care to the prevention and treatment of illness in the entire community. Link to MeSH description.
Medically Underserved Area: A geographic location which has insufficient health resources (manpower and/or facilities) to meet the medical needs of the resident population. Link to MeSH description.
Health Status Disparities: Variation in rates of disease occurrence and disabilities between population groups defined by socioeconomic characteristics such as age, ethnicity, economic resources, or gender and populations identified geographically or similar measures. Link to MeSH description.
Healthcare Disparities: Differences in access to or availability of medical facilities and services. Link to MeSH description.
Find books in the MCW Libraries' collection published within the past 5 years.
Many of the books are available online. Click the View Online button to start reading!
Community Engagement, Organization, and Development for Public Health Practice by 
Evaluating Clinical and Public Health Interventions by Books at the Mulva Library
Use BrowZine to browse the tables of contents of journals that MCW Libraries subscribes to. Browsing the tables of contents is a good way to keep current with medical literature, or to familiarize yourself with a discipline.
MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300
Front desk: (414) 955-8300