Why set you My Bibliography in PubMed?

My Bibliography is a reference tool within My NCBI that you can use to create a list of citations to your publications, and the list can be made publically available to share with others.

If you are applying for NIH funding and creating a Biosketch, you can include a link to your Bibliography in the Contributions to Science section, although this isn't mandatory. (See Contributions to Science, section IV question 2)

If you link your Bibliography to an eRA account, you can see if your publications comply with the NIH Public Access Policy.

Learn more about My Bibliography.

Challenge tasks:

1. Set up a My NCBI account. (Jump to instructions)
2. Create an author search in PubMed to identify your articles.  Note the author search so that you can later include it in your FCD profile. (Jump to instructions)
3. Send your publications to your Bibliography. (Jump to instructions)
4. Bonus: Set up an alert for your author search. (Learn how  )
5. Bonus: Set up the Get It from MCW Libraries buttons in your My NCBI account to get easy access to subscription articles. (Learn how )

Get more out of PubMed by registering for a My NCBI account.

Use your My NCBI account to save searches, create search alerts, edit your NCBI Bibliography and customize your PubMed search experience.

To signup for a NCBI account, go to PubMed.gov and click "Log in” in the top, right corner of the screen. There are many options for logging in. 

RECOMMENDED: Sign in to your My NCBI account to your MCW account by clicking "more login options" and finding Medical College of Wisconsin in the list.

                            ↓

       Login with your MCW credentials.

Perform an author search in PubMed to find all the articles that belong to you, and use the following steps:

1. Click "Advanced" underneath the search box
2. Change the filter to "Author"
3. Start typing your last name, and find it in the suggestions. Note that most of your articles should show up under your full name. Only include initials if you have a common name.
4. Select "Add"
5. Then click "Search"

Learn more about searching for authors in PubMed.

If you have a common name, you may want to include additional terms to your search, such as Affiliation. To add affiliation, change the filter to Affiliation, type in your affiliation (for instance, Medical College of Wisconsin), and select "Add with AND."

Review the articles in the search results, and check the box next to the articles that belong to you. Send the articles to your Bibliography by selecting "Send To" > "My Bibliography."

Note that PubMed will only add one instance of each article your Bibliography, so if you try to add the same article twice, only one copy will show up on your citation list.

To find My Bibliography, (A) click your user name in the top-right corner, (B) select "Dashboard," (C) find the "My Bibliography" card, and select "Manage My Bibliography."