Skip to main content

Mobile Apps: Clinical Resources

Find out how to install these various apps. The apps are geared to those working in a clinical setting.

MCW Libraries provides training and support for these mobile applications. Please feel free to contact the MCW Libraries with questions or additional app suggestions at asklib@mcw.edu or by calling (414) 955-8302.

AccessMedicine (MCW app)

​​AccessMedicine App includes access to four AccessMedicine products on your mobile device:

  • Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment: evidence-based outlines of commonly encountered conditions and disorders
  • Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology: features color images of skin conditions
  • Diagnosaurus 2.0:  point of care diagnostic resource
  • Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests: aids in the selection of commonly used test and lab procedures.

Installation Instructions

  1. Sign up for a MyAccess account in AccessMedicine.
    Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to your MyAccess account once every 90 days from a computer connected to the MCW, CHW, or Froedtert network, or through the proxy server .
    Create a MyAccess account
     
  2. Download the AccessMedicine app on to your mobile device.
     
  3. Launch the AccessMedicine app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.

AHQR ePSS (Free app)

​​AHQR ePSS is an app designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations.  Instructions for use. 

When would I use this app? A 40 year old, non-smoking patient has made an appointment for his first physical exam in 10 years. Use ePSS to learn about screening recommendations for this patient. 

ASCVD Risk Calculator (Free app)

ASCVD Risk

​​The ASCVD Risk Estimator enables you to estimate 10-year and lifetime risks for atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD). Learn more about this app.

Download the app from iTunes or GooglePlay

When would I use this app? This app can be used during a patient encounter to help aid in decision making about the risk of heart disease, the benefits and potential harms of using statins, and finding ways to improve health.

Aspirin-Guide (Free app)

Aspirin GuideThe Aspirin-Guide app from researchers at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, helps clinicians decide which patients are candidates for the use of low-dose aspirin in the primary prevention of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) by balancing the ASCVD benefits against the risk of harm due to gastrointestinal (GI) or other bleeding.

Download the app from iTunes or GooglePlay

BrowZine (MCW app)

BrowZineBrowZine can be used to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. You can read articles, export article information to a citation manager, and create a customized bookshelf of journals.

When would I use this app? You need a convenient way to keep aware of what is new in the literature.

Learn more about this app, and find journal recommendations from the Clerkship Directors. 

Installation Instructions

  1. Search for the BrowZine app on the App store or Google Play and install it.
     
  2. When you open BrowZine, you’ll be prompted to choose a library. Medical College of Wisconsin has two entries.
    1. Choose "Medical College of Wisconsin – MCW users" if you log into the library’s proxy server using your MCW email credentials
    2. Choose "Medical College of Wisconsin – other authorized users" if you log into the library’s proxy server using your library barcode or proxy ID (i.e. Children’s Hospital and Froedtert Hospital staff would use this method)
  3. Once you type in your credentials, you will be placed into the BrowZine Library. Search for journals by title or subject. If you’d like to create a bookshelf for yourself, you’ll need to create a BrowZine account.

Calculate by QxMD (Free app)

Calculate by QxMDCalculate by QxMD is a clinical calculator and decision support tool.

When would I use this app? A 67-year-old patient with diabetes and a history of stroke was recently diagnosed with atrial fibrillation. Warfarin therapy is being considered, however you know this therapy carries a risk of major bleeding complications. Find out the level of risk using the Warfarin Bleeding Risk calculator.

CDC STD Tx Guide (Free app)

CDC STD Tx Guide

​​The STD Treatment (Tx) Guidelines serves as a quick reference guide for doctors and related parties on the identification of and treatment for sexually transmitted diseases (STDs)

Download the app from iTunes or GooglePlay

When would I use this app? You want to quickly look up the recommended treatment regimen for an adolescent with chlamydia. 

ClinicalKey (MCW app)

ClinicalKey App

Access information from ClinicalKey through their mobile app, including books, journals, videos and images produced by Elsevier. 

When would I use this app? You are looking for background information from textbooks or your would like to view a video on a certain procedure. 

Installation instructions

  1. On a computer or tablet, create an account in ClinicalKey. Click Register in the top, right corner of the screen and fill out the form.
    1. Use your MCW email address to create your account!
    2. You may need to activate your account through a confirmation email.
    3. Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to the ClinicalKey website with your account every 180 days. 
       
  2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the ClinicalKey Mobile App on your mobile device from the App Store or Google Play.
     
  3. Launch the ClinicalKey app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created. 

Contraception (Free app)

Contraception

​​The U.S. Medical Eligibility Criteria for Contraceptive Use has recommendations for using specific contraceptive methods by women and men who have certain characteristics or medical conditions. 

Download the app from iTunes or GooglePlay

When would I use this app? You are working with a patient who recently had a baby, is breastfeeding, and would like to start birth control. Use this app to identify contraception options that would be safe for her and her child.

Diagnosaurus (MCW app)

DiagnosaurusDiagnosaurus is a differential diagnosis tool that allows you to browse by organ system, symptoms, or diseases. Get access to Diagnosaurus through the AccessMedicine app

Epocrates (Free app)

Epocrates has drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and over-the-counter drugs. Modules in this app include an interaction checker, pill identification, guidelines and calculators.

Download the app from iTunes or GooglePlay. You will be prompted to create an account through Epocrates to install the app.

When would I use this app?   A patient has a vial of different pills and is unsure of what they are. Use the Pill ID tool to identify them.

Essential Evidence Plus (MCW app)

Essential Evidence Plus

Essential Evidence Plus (EEP) is an evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries. EEP is available through the STAT!Ref app by searching for Essential Evidence Plus in the title list. 

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide via UCentral (MCW app)

The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide is available in the UCentral app. This guide contains information on infectious diseases, drugs, and pathogens written by content experts at Johns Hopkins Medicine. Access to this app is funded by Froedtert and is limited to Froedtert and MCW affiliated users. 

When would I use this app? To find information about drug dosage and adverse reactions, or to discover or confirm a diagnosis with details on pathogens and clinical considerations. 

Installation instructions

  1. Create an account in Unbound Medicine. Go to the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide and tap "Sign In" in the top-right corner of the screen. Tap "Register" to set up your account. Note: you must use an MCW.edu or Froedtert.com email address.
     
  2. Once your account is created, download the free UCentral app from iTunes (Apple devices) or Google Play (Android devices).
     
  3. Launch the UCentral app and sign in with the account information you just created.

The UCentral app also includes access to Calculators, Grasp and you can search the contents of MEDLINE. 

Red Book Online (MCW app)

Red Book App

Red Book provides clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of some 200 childhood infectious diseases. About Red Book

When would I use this app? A child care worker has been diagnosed with pertussis.  A parent has called about her 2 year old who was exposed at the day care. Is there a recommendation for chemoprophylaxis?

Installation Instructions

  1. On your tablet, start out by clicking the Moblie App Access link on the Red Book Online website
     
  2. Follow the instructions on the PPT below.

Shots Immunizations (Free app)

Shots ImmunizationsShots Immunizations is a point of care tool that provides vaccine and vaccination information about routine vaccines. The schedules are displayed in an easy-to-read chart. Each vaccine is covered in sections on the basics, special indications, catch-up, side effects, contraindications, precautions, and contents with additional sections on epidemiologic information about each disease.  

When would I use this app? Your patient, who is 62 years old and is currently being treated for cutaneous t-cell lymphoma,  tells you she has been seeing those ads about the shingles shot and wonders if she should get one.   

STAT!Ref (MCW app)

STAT!RefUse STAT!Ref to search the full text of books, journals and evidence-based point-of-care resources. Essential Evidence Plus, a point-of-care resource that contains over 13,000 topic summaries, can be searched in the Stat!Ref app. To find Essential Evidence Plus, tap Titles to find this resource. 

When would I use this app? In Essential Evidence Plus, find effective treatment options associated with a high level of evidence for a 65 year-old patient who presents with progressive knee pain that is diagnosed as osteoarthritis.

Installation Instructions

  1. On a computer or tablet, create an account in STAT!Ref.  See the PowerPoint below for details on how to do this.
     
  2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the STAT!Ref Mobile app on your mobile device from the App StoreGoogle Play, or Amazon.
     
  3. Launch the STAT!Ref app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.
     
  4. Link to further instructions: http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html

The Medical Letter (MCW app)

The Medical LetterThe Medical Letter app enables you to get the latest issue of The Medical Letter On Drugs and Therapeutics on your mobile device. Browse past issues, earn CME/CE credits on the go, or find information quickly by using the search.

 

Installation Instructions

  1. Go to The Medical Letter website and click the Mobile Apps link on the left side of the page. Register for access using the provided form.
  2. After your registration is accepted, download the app for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire from your mobile device or desktop.
  3. If prompted, enter your registration information to open the app.

UpToDate (MCW app)

UpToDate AppUpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource. 
Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to your UpToDate account once every 90 days from a computer connected to the MCW, CHW, or Froedtert network.

When would I use this app? You are treating a 5-month old child with fever and ear pain and are looking for treatment recommendations with a high level of evidence associated with them.

Installation Instructions

  1. Create an account in UpToDate. Go to UpToDate and click Log In in the top left corner on your tablet, or Log In / Register in the top right corner on your computer.
     
  2. Once you have your account created, download the UpToDate app on your mobile device. Links to the app can be found here
     
  3. Install the app and sign in using the username and password you created. 

VisualDx (MCW app)

VisualDx

VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions. VisualDx contains over 32,000 images showing disease variation to solve the most challenging cases. 

When would I use this app?  A patient presents with a non-healing ulcer on his medial malleolus. Using information about the patient's background, including health, smoking hisotry, and recent activities, you can use the differential builder to find a relevant diagnosis. 

Installation Instructions

  1. Click here to sign up for an account in VisualDx.
     
  2. Create your personal username and password as instructed. 
     
  3. Once you have a username and password, you can download the free VisualDx Mobile app. Find links to download the app on the VisualDx website
     
  4. Launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created. 

MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300

Contact Us
asklib@mcw.edu
Locations | Hours
Send Us Your Comments