LibGuides: Board Review Resources: Provided by the MCW Libraries

Questions? Contact Us!

LibraryTW@mcw.libanswers.com

Front desk: (414) 955-8300

Reference: (414) 955-8302

Official USMLE Practice Exams

Official USMLE Practice Materials are provided by the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) and National Board of Medical Examiners® (NBME®).

Students are provided with access to the AMBOSS 12-month question bank subscription and a 6-month UWorld question bank subscription that includes self-assessments. A Step 1 Preparation Program module within their Academic Enhancement Brightspace course contains study schedules, banks of resources, M3/M4 strategies, the newsletter series, and more. Learn more from Academic and Student Services here.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 100 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, videos, interactive self-assessment, cases, drug information, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
- This link opens in a new window

Study Tools tab: A MyAccess Profile is required to create the multiple-choice quizzes. Click on the Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries button at the top right of the page to sign in or create a profile.

a) Access to review questions from books in the Basic Sciences and Clinical Practice & Board Review.

b) Showdown: Challenge colleagues on their medical knowledge, quiz-bowl style. You and your opponent will battle through two rounds of questions, each with five categories ranging from 100 to 400 points, plus a final question worth 500 points. Like other turn-based games, you can play live or opt in to get email notifications when it’s your turn. You can also hone your skills by challenging the computer. To get started, choose Play Showdown! from the Study Tools menu and login or create your MyAccess Profile.

Cases tab: A MyAccess Profile is required to view the questions.

a) Access to selected basic science and clinical cases from the Case Files series. Includes Q&A, approach, pearls, references, and comprehension questions for each case. Can view cases by case number or by topic.

b) Access selected cases on acid-base disturbances, fluid/electrolytes, clinical neuroanatomy, medical microbiology, pathophysiology, family medicine, internal medicine, and pediatrics from a variety of authoritative resources.

LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window
Click on Texts, Self-Assessment, and Cases tabs to access materials for USMLE, clerkship, and course exam review. Create a free personal account to generate personalized self-assessment quizzes.

Other Resource Subscriptions

The following resources also provide self-assessment resources for review:

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window Find answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the Emergency Department, ranging from neurologic and orthopedic emergencies, to poisoning and trauma. View books, procedures, videos, image library, drug database, board review resources and more.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Content covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. View books, procedures, videos, image library, drug database, board review resources and more.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for surgery education that provides textbooks, videos, animations, a differential diagnosis tool, interactive board review, and more.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Growing multidisciplinary e-book collection from leading academic publishers. Click on the Sign In or Bookshelf tabs and use your off-campus access login credentials to access your personal Ebook Central bookshelf account and special features.
See ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide for more information
PsychiatryOnline Premium This link opens in a new window Online access to DSM-5 Library and a collection of books, journals, practice guidelines, and medication and mental disorder information handouts for patients from American Psychiatric Association Publishing. Subscription includes access to Premium Books.