Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systematic Reviews: Guides, Manuals, Standards

Learn how the library can support you with your systematic review.

Guides, Manuals, Standards for Conducting a Systematic Review

AMSTAR (A Measurement Tool to Assess Systematic Reviews)
The site includes the AMSTAR checklist, an 11 point checklist to assess systematic reviews.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
version 5.1.0 [updated March 2011]
The handbook provides methodological guidance for preparation and maintenance of Cochrane Intervention reviews

CRD's (Center for Reviews and Dissemination) Guidance for Undertaking Reviews in Health Care

Equator Network
International initiative that seeks to improve the reliability and value of published health research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting and wider use of reporting guidelines

Guideline for Systematic Reviews of Outcome Measurement Instruments
"A 10-step procedure to help you prepare, select, evaluate, interpret and report on studies in your systematic review of patient-reported outcome measures (PROMs)."  Site includes additional tools from COSMIN (COnsensus-based Standards for the selection of health Measurement INstruments)

Institute of Medicine, Report at a Glance, Standards for Systematic Reviews, 2011
The Report includes Standards for Initiating a Systematic Review, Standards for Finding and Assessing Individual Studies, Standards for Synthesizing the Body of Evidence and Standards for Reporting Systematic Reviews

Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews, January 2014
Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHQR) guide for writing a comparative effectiveness review

PRISMA - Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
Evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses.  The PRISMA statement contains a 27 item checklist which includes title, abstract, methods, results, discussion and funding.  It also contains a four-phase flow diagram that depicts the flow of information through the different phases of a systematic review including identification, screening, eligibility and studies included.  A PRISMA Flow Diagram Generator is available to help create your flow diagrams.

PRISMA-S - an extension to the PRISMA Statement for Reporting Literature Searches in Systematic Reviews. The new extension expands on the three items in the 2009 PRISMA Statement checklist that addressed literature search reporting and includes 16 items that cover multiple aspects of the literature search process. The purpose of the new extension is to offer guidelines for reporting search methods and information sources in a clear, reproducible way

Also consider guidelines from your own discipline!  Here is one example:  American Academy of Neurology Clinical Practice Guideline Process Manual

Consider where you are going to publish.  Does the publisher have specific requirements?  Check previously published systematic reviews published in that journal.

 

Books at MCW Libraries

MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300

Contact Us
Locations & Hours
Send Us Your Comments