Skip to main content

Nursing Resources: Overview

The Nursing Resources guide is designed for nurses interested in research, updating best practices, and increasing professional knowledge. This guide contains many nursing specific resources, including databases, e-books, and e-journals

Welcome to the Nursing Resources guide! Here you will find many nursing-centric resources, including databases, e-books, and e-journals. In addition, this guide contains resources pertaining to Evidence Based Practice, patient education, and drugs and medications. 

To request off-campus access to books, journals and databases, use your MCW login information. CHW and Froedtert Health nurses can apply for off-campus access by completing the Proxy Access Request form.

MCW Libraries Locations

Froedtert Hospital Library

Find a strong collection of resources in consumer health, clinical medicine and nursing. This library is located on the second floor of the Froedtert Specialty Clinics Building, hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday.

Phone: (414) 805-4311
Email: asklib@mcw.edu

Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Medical Library

Find a collection of resources focused on pediatrics and pediatric examination preparation. The library is located in the Daniel M. Soref Family Resource Center.  

Phone: (414) 266-2419
Email: asklib@mcw.edu

Library Hours

Todd Wehr Library

Staffed/Public Hours

Mon - Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.

MCW Badge Access 24/7


​Froedtert Library

Staffed/Public Hours

Mon - Fri: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

FH Badge Access 24/7


Children's Hospital Library

Hours subject to availability

Mon - Fri: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Finding Information - Videos and Tutorials

Connect from Off Campus to MCW Libraries

MCW Libraries' comprehensive collection of resources is available anytime, anywhere and on any device. To access our resources from off campus, simply click on any resource link on the library's website.

To request off-campus access to books, journals and databases, use your MCW login information. CHW and Froedtert Health nurses can apply for off-campus access by completing the Proxy Access Request form.

Library Services

Literature Searches - Before you start your next project, work with a librarian to discover what is already known on the topic.

Citation Management Tools - Get assistance using citation managers like RefWorks and Endnote

Document Delivery & Interlibrary Loan Services - Use the Library on Request (LOR) service to request copies of books, journal articles, conference proceedings and other items that aren't immediately accessible to you online. If we don't have the requested item in our collection, we'll do our best to find it for you through interlibrary loan (ILL).

Borrowing Materials - Apply for a library card at any of the MCW Libraries locations to check out print books from our collection. 

Contact Us!

EmailLibraryTW@mcw.libanswers.com

    (414) 955-8302

  (414) 367-9629

MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300

Contact Us
asklib@mcw.edu
Locations | Hours
Send Us Your Comments