LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Pediatric Nursing

Contact Us

LibraryTW@mcw.libanswers.com

Front desk: (414) 955-8300

Reference: (414) 955-8302

Evidence Based Practice Databases

Use the following citation databases and other tools to find journal articles including research and peer-reviewed articles. Click here to see a complete list of MCW databases and resources.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health database provides coverage of nursing and allied health related literature. More than 3,100 journals are indexed and full text is available for nearly 580 journals.
PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provided by BadgerLink, this database provides more than 350 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and also features abstracts and indexing for over 830 journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
BadgerLink This link opens in a new window Links to EBSCO databases of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other reference resources provided as a service of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

E-Book Collections

MCW Libraries provides access to hundreds of electronic books including nursing management and practice textbooks.

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Includes electronic versions of over 150 important and trusted reference textbooks from a variety of medical and health science disciplines.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
- This link opens in a new window
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Growing multidisciplinary e-book collection from leading academic publishers. Click on the Sign In or Bookshelf tabs and use your off-campus access login credentials to access your personal Ebook Central bookshelf account and special features.
See ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide for more information
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window Contains the full-text of primary care, nursing, and health science writing texts. Also includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Evidence Alerts, EBMcalc, Current Procedure Codes with RVUs, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, and ICD Code Conversion Tools.
- This link opens in a new window
Platform upgrade live on 9/9/19. See here for more information.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
- This link opens in a new window
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.

E-Journals

Use BrowZine to stay current with nursing journals. Select a popular nursing journal to get started, or see links to all pediatric and multidisciplinary nursing journals below.

General Pediatric Resources

Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by Robert M. Kliegman; Joseph St. Geme
ISBN: 9780323529501
Publication Date: 2019
Rudolph's Pediatrics by Mark W. Kline; Susan M. Blaney; Angelo P. Giardino; Jordan S. Orange; Daniel J. Penny; Gordon E. Schutze; Lara S. Shekerdemian
ISBN: 9781259588594
Publication Date: 2018
Textbook of Pediatric Care- American Academy of Pediatrics by Thomas K. McInerny
ISBN: 9781581109665
Publication Date: 2017
Red Book 2024 by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Ritu Banerjee (Associate Editor); Elizabeth Barnett (Associate Editor); Ruth Lynfield (Associate Editor); Mark H. Sawyer (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781610027342
Publication Date: 2024-05-31
The Harriet Lane Handbook by Johns Hopkins Hospital; Helen Hughes; Lauren Kahl (Editors)
ISBN: 9780323674089
Publication Date: 2021
Paller and Mancini - Hurwitz Clinical Pediatric Dermatology by Amy S. Paller; Anthony J. Mancini
ISBN: 9780323549882
Publication Date: 2021
Moss and Adams' Heart Disease in Infants, Children, and Adolescents by Robert E. Shaddy (Editor-In-Chief); Daniel J. Penny (Editor); Timothy F. Feltes (Editor); Frank Cetta (Editor); Seema Mital (Editor)
ISBN: 9781975116606
Publication Date: 2021
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners by Myung K. Park; Mehrdad Salamat
ISBN: 9780323681070
Publication Date: 2020
Pediatric Cardiology by Walter H. Johnson; James H. Moller
ISBN: 9781118503393
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
Pediatric Cardiology by Gil Wernovsky; James S. Tweddell; Kumar Krishna; Kathleen A. Mussato; Andrew Redington; Robert H. Anderson; Justin Tretter
ISBN: 9780702076084
Publication Date: 2019
Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology by J. Eric Piña-Garza; Kaitlin C. James
ISBN: 9780323485289
Publication Date: 2019
Swaiman's Pediatric Neurology by Kenneth F. Swaiman; Stephen Ashwal; Donna M. Ferriero; Nina F. Schor; Richard S. Finkel; Andrea L. Gropman; Phillip L. Pearl; Michael I. Shevell
ISBN: 9780323371018
Publication Date: 2017
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children by Peter J. Davis (Editor); Franklyn P. Cladis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323698252
Publication Date: 2021

Finding Information - Videos and Tutorials

PubMed for Nurses
Refresh your PubMed search skills by trying out the "PubMed for Nurses Tutorial." The tutorial is designed specifically for nurses and consists of short videos, quizzes and activities. In less than 30 minutes learn how to set up a search in PubMed, use filters, find clinically-relevant articles and use MyNCBI to save searches and citations.
Nursing Journals Filter in PubMed
In this video, learn how to set up a Nursing Journals filter in PubMed so that you can quickly limit your search results to articles that come from nursing journals. 1:26

Top Recommended LibGuides

Nursing Resources
View the full MCW Libraries Nursing Resources LibGuide here.
Evidence Based Practice
An overview of EBP and relevant resources.
How Do I...?
Find out how to access and connect to MCW Libraries resources, as well as information about finding articles and books in our collection.
Citation Managers
Learn more about the citation managers that MCW Libraries provides training for.
Literature Searching
Learn more about how to use library resources to search for clinical information.

Nursing Resources: Pediatric Nursing

About Nursing Resources