LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Books, Journals and Articles

E-Book Collections

MCW Libraries provides access to hundreds of electronic books including nursing management and practice textbooks.

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic versions of over 150 important and trusted reference textbooks from a variety of medical and health science disciplines.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Growing multidisciplinary e-book collection from leading academic publishers. Click on the Sign In or Bookshelf tabs and use your off-campus access login credentials to access your personal Ebook Central bookshelf account and special features.
See ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide for more information
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of primary care, nursing, and health science writing texts. Also includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Evidence Alerts, EBMcalc, Current Procedure Codes with RVUs, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, and ICD Code Conversion Tools.
Platform upgrade live on 9/9/19. See here for more information.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.

Evidence Based Practice Databases

Use the following citation databases and other tools to find journal articles including research and peer-reviewed articles. Click here to see a complete list of MCW databases and resources.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health database provides coverage of nursing and allied health related literature. More than 3,100 journals are indexed and full text is available for nearly 580 journals.
PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window
Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provided by BadgerLink, this database provides more than 350 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and also features abstracts and indexing for over 830 journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
BadgerLink This link opens in a new window
Links to EBSCO databases of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other reference resources provided as a service of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

E-Journals

Use BrowZine to stay current with nursing journals.

Click the journal cover to view the journal's most recent table of contents in BrowZine. To add a journal to your personal bookshelf, sign in to your account and click ADD TO MY BOOKSHELF. Learn more about BrowZine, including how to set up an account.

Additional Databases & Resources

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of medical images and specialist-level knowledge to help diagnose, treat, and manage visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. Images from VisualDx may be used in presentations.
Learn more about using images from VisualDx.

UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) at CHW
Please note that CHW nurses are encouraged to access LexiComp on the Patient Care--Clinical Resources drop down menu on Children's Connect.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) at Froedtert
Please note that Froedtert nurses are encouraged to access LexiComp via Epic on SCOUT.