LibGuides: MCW-Green Bay: Family Medicine

Resources & Databases

STAT!Ref Contains the full-text of primary care, nursing, and health science writing texts. Also includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Evidence Alerts, EBMcalc, Current Procedure Codes with RVUs, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, and ICD Code Conversion Tools.
Mobile App Installation Instructions
1. On a computer or tablet, create an account in STAT!Ref. View directions (PDF) for creating an account.
2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the STAT!Ref Mobile app on your mobile device from the App Store, Google Play, or Amazon.
3. Launch the STAT!Ref app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.
4. Link to further instructions: http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html

POEMs | Essential Evidence Plus | STAT!Ref POEMs (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) Research Summaries provide the most recent, relevant research from over 100 journals and are accessible via email alerts or the archive included in the Related Contents section of the database. Register for a My STAT!Ref account to set up the POEMs alerts and access the database via the STAT!Ref Mobile App.

Cochrane Library Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
PubMed LinkOut Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.

Patient Care Handouts

UpToDate UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients: "Basics" are short overviews written in plain language principles, and "Beyond the Basics" are longer, more detailed reviews for readers who are comfortable with some medical terminology.
Mobile App Installation Instructions
1. Go to UpToDate and click Log In in the top left corner on your tablet, or Log In / Register in the top right corner on your computer.
2. Once you have your account created, download the UpToDate app on your mobile device. Links to the app can be found here.
3. Install the app and sign in using the username and password you created.
*If you already have an UpToDate account, you do NOT need to create another. Users may want to update their e-mail or username by logging in and changing them (e.g., jdoe@mcw.edu) in the Contact Information or User Name and Password section.
ClinicalKey Use the filter to limit to patient education materials.
Mobile App Installation Instructions:
1. Create an account in ClinicalKey. You must create your account on a computer or tablet connected to the MCW network either on campus or off campus while logged into OpenAthens. Click Register in the top, right corner of the screen and fill out the form.
  1. Use your affiliated institutional email address (MCW, Froedtert, or CHW) to create your account.
  2. Activate your account through a confirmation email.
  3. Apply for Self-Managed Remote Access to view all subscribed content when off campus. See the ClinicalKey Information/FAQs guide for instructions.
2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the ClinicalKey Mobile App on your mobile device from the App Store or Google Play.
3. Launch the ClinicalKey app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.
Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to the ClinicalKey website with your account every 180 days.
AccessMedicine Download PDFs of patient care handouts related to adult and pediatric patients and medications.
Mobile App Installation Instructions
1. Sign up for a MyAccess account in AccessMedicine.
  Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to your MyAccess account once every 90 days from a computer connected to the MCW, CHW, or Froedtert network, or through OpenAthens.
2. Download the AccessMedicine app on to your mobile device.
3. Launch the AccessMedicine app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.

Recommended Apps & Websites

Calculate by QxMD
Contraception
Download from iTunes or GooglePlay.
Epocrates
Drug information app, includes pill ID to help identify medications.
InfantRisk Center Health Care
Download from iTunes.

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (FH/MCW only)
Antimicrobial treatment guide for all infections

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
Palliative Care Fast Facts
Comprehensive guidance on symptom management for palliative care patients from the Palliative Care Network of Wisconsin.
CDC Vaccine Schedules Mobile App
This free tool provides the most current version of the child and adolescent schedule with immunization recommendations from birth through age 18; catch-up schedule for children and adolescents 4 months through 18 years; adult schedule, including recommended vaccines for adults by age group and by medical conditions; and adult contraindications and precautions table.

Guidelines

ACC Guideline App
HTN, Lipid, AFib, CHF guidance from the American College of Cardiology.
ADA Standards of Care
Guidelines from the American Diabetes Association.
IDSA Practice Guidelines
Guidelines from the Infectious Disease Society of America.
ACOG Practice Bulletins
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
ACOG Committee Opinions
ECRI Guidelines Trust

MCW-Green Bay

Required Mobile Apps

Required Reading

Additional Apps

Resources & Databases

Patient Care Handouts

Recommended Apps & Websites

Guidelines