Clinical Nutrition: Drugs and Supplements

by ClinicalKey, this database delivers drug monographs including dosage, administration, interactions, and adverse reactions.

DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

Find fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.

A database of commercial dietary supplement products (over 90,000). Each product monograph includes the product's name, ingredients, effectiveness, safety, interactions, and adverse events. These monographs also feature our Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Rating™ (NMBER™). NMBER™ is a unique clinical tool that assigns evidence-based ratings to multi-ingredient, commercially available products based on safety, effectiveness, and overall product quality.

Natural Medicines contains over 1200 monographs on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, naturally sourced chemical compounds, and foods. Each monograph provides scientific, evidence-based information on Safety, Effectiveness, and Interactions. In addition to the Professional version, each monograph is also available as a Patient Handout in English, Spanish, and French. These are designed to be given to patients and are written so they can be easily understood by a general consumer.

ODS seeks to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, supporting research, sharing research results, and educating the public. Its resources include publications (such as Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know), fact sheets on a variety of specific supplement ingredients and products (such as vitamin D and multivitamin/mineral supplements), and the PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset.