LibGuides: Evidence Based Practice: Databases to Search

Pyramid

ACCESSSS - For Federated Searching of Evidence Based Resources

A federated search engine searches across all levels of evidence simultaneously. ACCESSSS was developed by McMaster University. The results of your search for evidenced based literature are linked to available MCW Libraries resources. To use ACCESSSS, create an account on the web site. Identify Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries as your “PubMed Outside Tool” and “resource portal” preference. Then login in to search ACCESSSS.

Journals with an EBP Focus

Evidence-Based Nursing
Content is critically appraised and the most relevant articles are summarized into a expert commentary, focusing on the papers key findings and implications for clinical practice.
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing
Published by The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, takes a global approach in its presentation of research, policy and practice, education and management.

Contact MCW Libraries

LibraryTW@mcw.libanswers.com

Front desk: (414) 955-8300

Reference: (414) 955-8302

Filtered Information

▲ Systematic Reviews & Guidelines

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window The PubMed Clinical Queries Page is designed to filter one search by three clinical research areas: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics

▲ Critically-Appraised Topics

Evaluate and synthesize multiple research studies.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
- This link opens in a new window
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window Clinical decision support system includes 13,000+ topics, guidelines, tools, and images covering common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians encounter daily. Every recommendation includes strength-of-evidence rating. Access POEMs (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) Research Summaries and set up email alerts by registering for a MySTAT!Ref account.
- This link opens in a new window
First Consult This link opens in a new window First Consult, part of ClinicalKey, is an evidence-based, continuously updated point of care resource. Access the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.

▲ Critically-Appraised Articles

Evaluate and synthesize individual research studies.

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window Summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals. Published as a monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine.

Unfiltered Information

▲ ▲ ▲ Unfiltered Information

Literature databases for RCTs, cohort studies, case-controlled studies, case series, etc.)

Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health database provides coverage of nursing and allied health related literature. More than 3,100 journals are indexed and full text is available for nearly 580 journals.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window The PubMed Clinical Queries Page is designed to filter one search by three clinical research areas: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics
Scopus This link opens in a new window Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provided by BadgerLink, this database provides more than 350 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and also features abstracts and indexing for over 830 journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains citations to journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, and social sciences. Journal coverage spans 1806-present.
BadgerLink This link opens in a new window Links to EBSCO databases of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other reference resources provided as a service of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database covering every area of academic study. Contains full text for over 4,500 journals, including more than 3,800 peer-reviewed titles.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Find full text for more than 2,200 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Find citations to articles and book chapters in the fields of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. Full text available for licensed content.
NCBI Genome Databases This link opens in a new window Access numerous sequence databases including Nucleotide, Protein, Genome, Structure, and SNP. The remaining databases are Taxonomy, Gene, UniGene, HomoloGene, Conserved Domains, and Probe. Links to the Human Genome, Map Viewer, and BLAST are on the toolbar.
View a video on NCBI's Molecular Databases, produced by the MCW Libraries.

Background Information & Expert Opinion

▲ Background Information/ Textbooks

Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window Find answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the Emergency Department, ranging from neurologic and orthopedic emergencies, to poisoning and trauma. View books, procedures, videos, image library, drug database, board review resources and more.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 100 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, videos, interactive self-assessment, cases, drug information, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
- This link opens in a new window
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Content covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. View books, procedures, videos, image library, drug database, board review resources and more.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for surgery education that provides textbooks, videos, animations, a differential diagnosis tool, interactive board review, and more.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Includes electronic versions of over 150 important and trusted reference textbooks from a variety of medical and health science disciplines.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
- This link opens in a new window
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Access 135 monographs on biomedical and life sciences research topics from Collections One, Two, and Three. A green icon to the right of the Lecture Series title indicates that full text is available.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Growing multidisciplinary e-book collection from leading academic publishers. Click on the Sign In or Bookshelf tabs and use your off-campus access login credentials to access your personal Ebook Central bookshelf account and special features.
See ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide for more information
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window Access basic science, physical examination, epidemiology, ethics and review titles plus images, multimedia, cases, and interactive question banks. Some of the supplementary content (e.g., audio heart sounds) is Flash-based, and not compatible with Apple mobile devices.
Red Book Online This link opens in a new window Provides clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of over 200 childhood infectious diseases.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new window Includes selected monographic series and individual e-books in basic and clinical sciences published by Elsevier. Use Publication Type and Subscribed & Complimentary filters to limit to MCW Libraries holdings.
Thieme Clinical Collection This link opens in a new window Includes titles from medical specialties such as internal medicine, neurosurgery, orthopedics, otolaryngology, and radiology. MCW Libraries provides access to the 2010 collection.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window Contains the full-text of primary care, nursing, and health science writing texts. Also includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Evidence Alerts, EBMcalc, Current Procedure Codes with RVUs, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, and ICD Code Conversion Tools.
- This link opens in a new window
Platform upgrade live on 9/9/19. See here for more information.

Other Resources