Pharmacy Resources: Mobile Apps

​​USPSTF Prevention TaskForce  is an app designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations.  Instructions for use. 

When would I use this app? A 40 year old, non-smoking patient has made an appointment for his first physical exam in 10 years. Use ePSS to learn about screening recommendations for this patient. 

Download from the App Store or Google Play.

BrowZine can be used to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. You can read articles, export article information to a citation manager, and create a customized bookshelf of journals.

When would I use this app? You need a convenient way to keep aware of what is new in the literature.

Learn more about this app, and find journal recommendations from the Clerkship Directors. 

Installation Instructions

1. Search for the BrowZine app on the App Store or Google Play and install it.
2. When you open BrowZine, you’ll be prompted to choose your library: Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries.
3. Once you type in your credentials, you will be placed into the BrowZine Library. Search for journals by title or subject. If you’d like to create a bookshelf for yourself, you’ll need to create a BrowZine account.

Calculate by QxMD is a clinical calculator and decision support tool.

When would I use this app? A 67-year-old patient with diabetes and a history of stroke was recently diagnosed with atrial fibrillation. Warfarin therapy is being considered, however you know this therapy carries a risk of major bleeding complications. Find out the level of risk using the Warfarin Bleeding Risk calculator.

Download from the App Store or Google Play.

Access information from ClinicalKey through their mobile app, including books, journals, videos and images produced by Elsevier. 

When would I use this app? You are looking for background information from textbooks or your would like to view a video on a certain procedure. 

Installation instructions

1. Create an account in ClinicalKey. You must create your account on a computer or tablet connected to the MCW network either on campus or off campus while logged into OpenAthens. Click Register in the top, right corner of the screen and fill out the form.
   1. Use your affiliated institutional email address (MCW, Froedtert, or CHW) to create your account.
   2. Activate your account through a confirmation email.
   3. Apply for Self-Managed Remote Access to view all subscribed content when off campus. See the ClinicalKey Information/FAQs guide for instructions.
   4. Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to the ClinicalKey website with your account every 180 days. 
       
2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the ClinicalKey Mobile App on your mobile device from the App Store or Google Play.
    
3. Launch the ClinicalKey app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created. 

Essential Evidence Plus (EEP) is an evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries. EEP is available through the STAT!Ref app by searching for Essential Evidence Plus in the title list. 

The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide is available in the UCentral app. This guide contains information on infectious diseases, drugs, and pathogens written by content experts at Johns Hopkins Medicine. Access to this app is funded by Froedtert and is limited to Froedtert and MCW affiliated users. 

When would I use this app? To find information about drug dosage and adverse reactions, or to discover or confirm a diagnosis with details on pathogens and clinical considerations. 

Installation instructions

1. Create an account in Unbound Medicine. Go to the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide and tap "Sign In" in the top-right corner of the screen. Tap "Register" to set up your account. Note: you must use an MCW.edu or Froedtert.com email address.
    
2. Once your account is created, download the free UCentral app from iTunes (Apple devices) or Google Play (Android devices).
    
3. Launch the UCentral app and sign in with the account information you just created.

The UCentral app also includes access to Calculators, Grasp and you can search the contents of MEDLINE. 

CDC Vaccine Schedules is a point of care tool that provides vaccine and vaccination information about routine vaccines.

This free tool provides the most current version of the child and adolescent schedule with immunization recommendations from birth through age 18; catch-up schedule for children and adolescents 4 months through 18 years; adult schedule, including recommended vaccines for adults by age group and by medical conditions; and adult contraindications and precautions table.

Download app on App Store or Google Play.

Use STAT!Ref to search the full text of books, journals and evidence-based point-of-care resources. Essential Evidence Plus, a point-of-care resource that contains over 13,000 topic summaries, can be searched in the Stat!Ref app. To find Essential Evidence Plus, tap Titles to find this resource. 

When would I use this app? In Essential Evidence Plus, find effective treatment options associated with a high level of evidence for a 65 year-old patient who presents with progressive knee pain that is diagnosed as osteoarthritis.

Installation Instructions

1. On a computer or tablet, create an account in STAT!Ref.  View directions (PDF) for creating an account.
    
2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the STAT!Ref Mobile app on your mobile device from the App Store, Google Play, or Amazon.
    
3. Launch the STAT!Ref app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.
    
4. Link to further instructions: http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html

The Medical Letter app enables you to get the latest issue of The Medical Letter On Drugs and Therapeutics on your mobile device. Browse past issues, earn CME/CE credits on the go, or find information quickly by using the search.

Installation Instructions

1. Go to The Medical Letter website and click the Mobile Apps link on the left side of the page. Register for access using the provided form.
2. After your registration is accepted, download the app for iOS from your mobile device or desktop.
3. If prompted, enter your registration information to open the app.

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource. 
Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to your UpToDate account once every 90 days from a computer connected to the MCW, CHW, or Froedtert network.

When would I use this app? You are treating a 5-month old child with fever and ear pain and are looking for treatment recommendations with a high level of evidence associated with them.

Installation Instructions

*If you already have an UpToDate account, you do NOT need to create another. Users may want to update their e-mail or username by logging in and changing them (e.g., jdoe@mcw.edu) in the Contact Information or User Name and Password section.

1. Go to UpToDate and click Log In in the top left corner on your tablet, or Log In / Register in the top right corner on your computer.
2. Once you have your account created, download the UpToDate app on your mobile device. Links to the app can be found here. 
3. Install the app and sign in using the username and password you created.

VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions. VisualDx contains over 32,000 images showing disease variation to solve the most challenging cases. 

When would I use this app?  A patient presents with a non-healing ulcer on his medial malleolus. Using information about the patient's background, including health, smoking history, and recent activities, you can use the differential builder to find a relevant diagnosis. 

Installation Instructions

1. Go to VisualDx, scroll to the bottom of the page and select "Get the Mobile App."
    
2. If you don't already have one, create a personal VisualDx account. 
    
3. Once you have a username and password, download the free VisualDx Mobile app from iTunes or Google Play.
    
4. Launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.