|
Resource Name
|
Category
|
Type of Resource
|
Last Updated
|
Helpful Information
|
|
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy
and Lactation ★
|
Pregnancy and Lactation
|
Tertiary
|
2019 (Monthly)
|
- Provides latest recommendations on: Pregnancy, Fetal Risk, and Breast-Feeding summaries
- Available through UpToDate Lexidrug
|
|
American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG) Practice Bulletins ★
|
Pregnancy and Lactation
|
Secondary
|
2019 (Monthly)
|
- Clinical guidelines for pregnancy and lactation
- Also available – ACOG Committee Opinions
- Available through the Green Journal – Obstetrics & Gynecology.
|
|
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
|
Pregnancy and Lactation
|
Tertiary
|
2019 (Monthly)
|
- Provides information on the effect of medications and chemicals that interact with pregnant/lactating mothers
- Free resource, updated and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM)
|
|
Pediatric Injectable Drugs: The Teddy Bear Book ★
|
Pediatrics (Injectable Drugs)
|
Tertiary
|
2018
|
- Provides monographs for injectable drugs that include, dosing, precautions, infusion types, etc.
- Available through STAT!Ref
|
|
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics ★
|
Pediatrics
|
Tertiary
|
2020
|
- Provides information regarding disease states, clinical manifestations, lab findings, diagnoses, and treatment regimens
- Available through ClinicalKey
|
|
Pediatric and Neonatal Lexi-Drugs ★
|
Pediatrics
|
Tertiary
|
2019
|
- Provides pediatric and neonatal pharmacotherapy recommendations
- Available through UpToDate Lexidrug
|
|
Red Book ★
|
Pediatrics
(Infectious Disease)
|
Tertiary
|
2019
|
- Provides recommendations for immunizations, infectious diseases, health conditions, pathogens, antimicrobial agents
|
|
American Geriatrics Society Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults ★
|
Geriatrics
|
Tertiary
|
2023
|
- Provides explicit list of Potentially Inappropriate Medication (PIM’s) to be avoided by older adults in most circumstances or under specific situations, such as in certain diseases or conditions
- Also called Beers Criteria or Beers List or AGS Beers
|
|
Geriatric Lexi-Drugs ★
|
Geriatrics
|
Tertiary
|
2019
|
- This specialized database contains geriatric-sensitive drug monographs, information on drug interactions, and drug dosing in the elderly and adult populations
- Available through UpToDate Lexidrug
|
|
British Geriatrics Society STOP/STARTT Criteria
|
Geriatrics
|
Tertiary
|
2018
|
- Screening tool that provides recommendations for older adults on initiating or discontinuing medications
|
|
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders V (DSM-5) by American Psychiatric Association ★
|
Mental Health
|
Tertiary
|
2015
|
- Used to diagnose and classify mental health disorders
- The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations
- Available through PsychiatryOnline
|
|
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology ★
|
Mental Health
|
Tertiary
|
2012
|
- Provides information on optimal pharmacological interventions, pharmacotherapy regimens, and the management of treatment-refractory patients
- Available through STAT!Ref
|
|
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide ★
|
Infectious Disease
|
Tertiary
|
Individualized per condition
|
- Provides information on individual pathogens, medications, infections
- Available through Unbound Medicine
|
|
Sanford Guide
|
Infectious Disease
|
Tertiary
|
Updated annually ()
|
- Provides current guidelines for antimicrobial therapy
- Available through print, pocket guide, or app ($29.99/year)
- 2013 edition is available at the Todd Wehr Library
|
|
Infectious Disease Society of America (IDSA) Guidelines
|
Infectious Disease
|
Secondary
|
Individualized per condition
|
- Provides current guidelines for antimicrobial therapy
- Able to filter by health status, organ system, organism
|
|
United States Pharmacopeia and National Formulary (USP-NF) *Please see instructions to setup free account.*
Chapter 757: Non-Sterile
Chapter 797: Sterile
Chapter 800: Hazardous
|
Pharmaceutics
|
Primary
|
Updated Annually
|
- USP sets quality, purity and preparation standards (FDA enforces) in regard to pharmaceutical compounding
- Available to MCW students, faculty, and staff as part of the USP Academic Connection program. *Please see instructions to setup free account.*
|
|
Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy ★
|
Pharmaceutics
|
Tertiary
|
2013
|
- Provides medication descriptions in regard to pharmaceutics
- Volume I: Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Agents
- Volume II: Fundamentals of pharmacy practice
- Print book available at the Todd Wehr Library
|
|
Merck Manual Professional Version ★
|
Pharmaceutics
|
Tertiary
|
2018
|
- Provides information on chemicals, drugs and biologics
- Useful for researching chemicals, molecular weights and formulas
- Available through STAT!REf
|
|
Applied Therapeutics: the Clinical Use of Drugs
|
Pharmacology
|
Tertiary
|
2009
|
- Useful for pharmacotherapy and pharmacology information
- AKA Koda-Kimbles
|
|
Goodman and Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics ★
|
Pharmacology
|
Tertiary
|
2016
|
- Provides in depth material that covers a wide array of disease state knowledge in regard to pharmacotherapy, and pharmacology, and pharmacokinetics
- Provides pictures and graphs to help illustrate ideas and concepts
- Available through AccessPharmacy
|
|
DiPiro: Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach ★
|
Pharmacology
|
Tertiary
|
2017
|
- Organized based on disease state
- Provides list of medical terminology and abbreviations for disease states
- Available through AccessPharmacy
|
|
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database ★
|
Dietary Supplements
|
Tertiary
|
2019
|
- Provides over 1,400 natural medication monographs
- Provides latest studies regarding efficacy, safety and interactions of natural medications
|
|
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference ★
|
Dietary Supplements
|
Tertiary
|
2019
|
- Provides recommendations and references for dietary supplements
- Available through UpToDate Lexidrug
|
|
Lexi Drug I.D. ★
|
Drug Identification
|
Tertiary
|
2019
|
- Allows for drug identification by name of ingredient, inactive ingredient, shape, size, color, imprint
- Provides links to information for interactions, patient education, and Trissel’s IV compatibility resource
- Available through UpToDate Lexidrug
|
|
Trissel’s IV Compatibility ★
|
Intravenous Compatibility
|
Tertiary
|
2017
|
- Provides information on dosing compatibility and stability pertaining to concentration, diluents, storage, temperature, etc.
- Available through UpToDate Lexidrug
|
|
King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures
|
Intravenous Compatibility
|
Tertiary
|
2019
|
- Provides up-to-date information on intravenous compatibility and stability on infusion fluids
- Provides database that references pharmaceutical, medical, and nursing literature
- Available for purchase
|
|
The Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs ★
|
Nonprescription Medications
|
Tertiary
|
2018
|
- Provides information to assess a patient’s health status, drug therapy problems, and current practice of self-treatment (nonprescription, prescription medications, dietary supplements, herbal supplements, and other self-care measures
- Available through APhA Pharmacy Library
|
