MCWAH: How to Get Text Access to Books and Articles

If we don't have the requested item in our collection, we'll do our best to find it through interlibrary loan (ILL).  For MCW affiliates, resources can often be obtained for free or at a lower cost that what a publisher may charge. 

We use Clio to manage interlibrary loan requests. Learn more about Clio.

Requesting articles is made easy by using the Get It From MCW Libraries button, which can be found in many of the databases we subscribe too. 

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the MCW Libraries' subscription resources. Adding this extension to your browser enables one-click access to full text of articles from publisher pages, PubMed, and more, with no need to start at the library website.

Once LibKey Nomad is installed, you will be prompted to select an institution. You can type Medical College of Wisconsin in the box and select "Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries"  to complete the process.

PubMed LinkOut

Use PubMed LinkOut to verify citation information and to see if MCW Libraries has access to the full text of the article. If you don't connect to PubMed through the library's website, you won't see the "Get it from MCW Libraries" button.

Searching PubMed:

1. Copy and paste the article title into the search box. If you find too many results, put quotation marks around the article title. 
2. Look for the "Get It from MCW Libraries" buttons. Clicking this button will either take you to the full text of the article or you will will have the option to request the article from the library using our Request Materials service.

DOI or PMID Search

Library Catalog

Our library catalog and discovery system, not only lists books and journal titles in our collection, but you can also search for article titles.  

Searching MCW Libraries' Catalog:

1. Enter the exact title of the article you are looking for into the search box and click search. We recommend putting quotation marks around the title so that the title gets searched it as a phrase.  

Your article should show up at the top of the search results. Click the View PDF or View Full Text button to either connect to the full text of the article, or if we don’t have a subscription for electronic access, you have the option to request the article from the library using our Request Materials service.

Google Scholar

If you are using an MCW computer network or a staff network at Froedtert or CHW, links to Get It From MCW Libraries links should show up automatically in a Google Scholar search. If you are off campus or using a public network, it's easy to turn on the Get It From MCW Libraries links. 

1. Find the left side navigation menu on Google Scholar.
2. Click on Settings.
3. Click Library Links and search for Medical College of Wisconsin.
4. Tick the box next to "Medical College of Wisconsin - Get it from MCW Libraries."
5. Click Save.

Searching Google Scholar:

1. Enter the exact title of the article you are looking for into Scholar and click search. Be sure to put quotation marks around the title so that Scholar searches it as a phrase.  
2. Click the Get It From MCW Libraries link to either connect to the full text of the article, or if we don’t have a subscription for electronic access, you can order it through our Request Materials service.