LibGuides: Neonatology and Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing: Home

In this LibGuide, you will find...

Reference Librarian

Hayley Severson, MLIS

She / Her

Email Me

Contact:

(414) 955-8488

OpenAthens for Non-MCW Employees

MCW Libraries uses OpenAthens to connect users to library resources. Most Froedtert and Children's Wisconsin employees, and MCW volunteer or adjunct faculty are eligible for access to MCW Libraries' subscription resources. Complete the registration form to request an account. After we verify your status, you will receive an email with access instructions.

If you encounter any problems, please contact the library here.

Top Recommended LibGuides

This short list was created to provide you with more extensive information on the following topics. Please select from the list below for more:

Literature Searching
Learn more about how to use library resources to search for clinical information.
Citation Managers
Learn more about the citation managers that MCW Libraries provides training for.
How Do I...?
Find out how to access and connect to MCW Libraries resources, as well as information about finding articles and books in our collection.
Evidence Based Practice
An overview of EBP and relevant resources.
Evidence Based Medicine
Information and resources about using EBM in patient care.
PubMed
An overview of using PubMed and tips/tutorials for successful searches.
MCW Libraries Orientation
Become oriented with the resources and services of the MCW Libraries.

Databases

PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Content covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. View books, procedures, videos, image library, drug database, board review resources and more.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
- This link opens in a new window
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
Red Book Online This link opens in a new window Provides clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of over 200 childhood infectious diseases.
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
- This link opens in a new window
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window With DynaMed, clinicians can easily search, browse, and follow the topics and specialties that matter most to them, and get fast, actionable answers to their clinical questions.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window Features thousands of medical images and specialist-level knowledge to help diagnose, treat, and manage visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. Images from VisualDx may be used in presentations.
- This link opens in a new window
Learn more about using images from VisualDx.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health database provides coverage of nursing and allied health related literature. More than 3,100 journals are indexed and full text is available for nearly 580 journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window Used to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. You can read articles, export article information to a citation manager, and create a customized bookshelf of journals.
- This link opens in a new window

Perinatology and Neonatology Journals

General Pediatrics and Pediatric Specialty Resources

Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by Robert M. Kliegman; Joseph St. Geme
ISBN: 9780323529501
Publication Date: 2019
Rudolph's Pediatrics by Mark W. Kline; Susan M. Blaney; Angelo P. Giardino; Jordan S. Orange; Daniel J. Penny; Gordon E. Schutze; Lara S. Shekerdemian
ISBN: 9781259588594
Publication Date: 2018
Textbook of Pediatric Care- American Academy of Pediatrics by Thomas K. McInerny
ISBN: 9781581109665
Publication Date: 2017
Red Book 2024 by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Ritu Banerjee (Associate Editor); Elizabeth Barnett (Associate Editor); Ruth Lynfield (Associate Editor); Mark H. Sawyer (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781610027342
Publication Date: 2024-05-31
The Harriet Lane Handbook by Johns Hopkins Hospital; Helen Hughes; Lauren Kahl (Editors)
ISBN: 9780323674089
Publication Date: 2021
Paller and Mancini - Hurwitz Clinical Pediatric Dermatology by Amy S. Paller; Anthony J. Mancini
ISBN: 9780323549882
Publication Date: 2021
Moss and Adams' Heart Disease in Infants, Children, and Adolescents by Robert E. Shaddy (Editor-In-Chief); Daniel J. Penny (Editor); Timothy F. Feltes (Editor); Frank Cetta (Editor); Seema Mital (Editor)
ISBN: 9781975116606
Publication Date: 2021
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners by Myung K. Park; Mehrdad Salamat
ISBN: 9780323681070
Publication Date: 2020
Pediatric Cardiology by Walter H. Johnson; James H. Moller
ISBN: 9781118503393
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
Pediatric Cardiology by Gil Wernovsky; James S. Tweddell; Kumar Krishna; Kathleen A. Mussato; Andrew Redington; Robert H. Anderson; Justin Tretter
ISBN: 9780702076084
Publication Date: 2019
Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology by J. Eric Piña-Garza; Kaitlin C. James
ISBN: 9780323485289
Publication Date: 2019
Swaiman's Pediatric Neurology by Kenneth F. Swaiman; Stephen Ashwal; Donna M. Ferriero; Nina F. Schor; Richard S. Finkel; Andrea L. Gropman; Phillip L. Pearl; Michael I. Shevell
ISBN: 9780323371018
Publication Date: 2017
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children by Peter J. Davis (Editor); Franklyn P. Cladis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323698252
Publication Date: 2021

Neonatology eBooks

Goldsmith's Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate by Martin Keszler (Editor); Gautham Suresh (Editor); Jay P. Goldsmith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323761772
Publication Date: 2022
Avery's Diseases of the Newborn by Christine A. Gleason; Sandra E. Juul
ISBN: 9780323401395
Publication Date: 2017
Beyond the NICU: Comprehensive Care of the High-Risk Infant by William Malcolm
ISBN: 9780071748582
Publication Date: 2014
Breastfeeding by Ruth A. Lawrence; Robert M. Lawrence
ISBN: 9780323680134
Publication Date: 2021
Care of the Jaundiced Neonate by David Stevenson; M. Jeffrey Maisels; Jon F. Watchko
ISBN: 9780071762892
Publication Date: 2012
Cloherty and Stark's Manual of Neonatal Care by Eric C. Eichenwald; Anne R. Hansen; Camilia R. Martin; Ann R. Stark (Editors)
ISBN: 9781496343611
Publication Date: 2016
Comprehensive Neonatal Nursing Care by Carole Kenner; Leslie Altimier (Editor); Marina V. Boykova (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826139092
Publication Date: 2019
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine by Richard J. Martin; Avroy A. Fanaroff; Michele C. Walsh
ISBN: 9780323567114
Publication Date: 2019
Fetal and Neonatal Physiology by Richard A. Polin; Steven H. Abman; David Rowitch; William E. Benitz
ISBN: 9780323825559
Publication Date: 2022
Fetal and Neonatal Secrets by Richard A. Polin
ISBN: 9780323172868
Publication Date: 2013
Guidelines for Perinatal Care by A. A. P. Committee AAP Committee on Fetus and Newborn; ACOG Committee on Obstetric Practice; Sarah J. Kilpatrick (Editor); Luann Papile (Editor); George A. Macones (Associate Editor); Kristi L. Watterberg (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781610020886
Publication Date: 2017
Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate by Avroy A. Fanaroff; Jonathan M. Fanaroff
ISBN: 9780323608541
Publication Date: 2019
Manual of Neonatal Respiratory Care by Steven M. Donn; Sunil K. Sinha (Editors)
ISBN: 9781461421559
Publication Date: 2012
Neonatal and Infant Dermatology by Lawrence F. Eichenfield; Ilona J. Frieden; Erin Mathes; Andrea Zaenglein
ISBN: 9781455726394
Publication Date: 2014
Yaffe and Aranda's Neonatal and Pediatric Pharmacology: Therapeutic Principles in Practice by Sumner J. Yaffe (Editor); Jacob V. Aranda (Editor)
ISBN: 9781975112493
Publication Date: 2020
Neonatal Cardiology by Michael Artman; Lynn Mahony; David F. Teitel
ISBN: 9780071834506
Publication Date: 2017
Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook : An Evidence-Based Approach to Conditions and Procedures by Carole Kenner; Judy Wright Lott
ISBN: 9780826171658
Publication Date: 2016
Neonatology: Clinical Practice and Procedures by David K. Stevenson; Ronald S. Cohen; Philip Sunshine (Editors)
ISBN: 9780071763769
Publication Date: 2015
Gomella's Neonatology, Eighth Edition by Tricia Lacy Gomella; Fabien Eyal; Fayez Bany-Mohammed
ISBN: 9781259644818
Publication Date: 2020
Remington and Klein's Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant by Christopher B. Wilson; Victor Nizet; Yvonne Maldonado; Jack S. Remington; Jerome O. Klein
ISBN: 9780323241472
Publication Date: 2015
Rennie and Roberton's Textbook of Neonatology by Janet M. Rennie
ISBN: 9780702034794
Publication Date: 2012
*Available via interlibrary loan. Follow the link and select "Request Material."
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Deformation by John M. Graham; Pedro A. Sanchez-Lara
ISBN: 9780323294942
Publication Date: 2015
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation by Kenneth Lyons Jones
ISBN: 9780323186681
Publication Date: 2013
Texas Children's Hospital Handbook of Pediatrics and Neonatology by Adam Wayne Lowry
ISBN: 9780071714907
Publication Date: 2010
Trauma-Informed Care in the NICU by Mary Coughlin
ISBN: 9780826131973
Publication Date: 2017
Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn by Joseph J. Volpe (Editor-in-Chief); Terrie E. Inder; Basil T. Darras; Linda S. de Vries
ISBN: 9780323428767
Publication Date: 2017
Wong's Nursing Care of the Infants and Children 10th Edition by Marilyn J. Hockenberry, David Wilson
ISBN: 9780323293396
Publication Date: 2015

Drug Reference Books & Resources

Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk(tm) 2021 by Thomas W. Hale
ISBN: 9780826189257
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
"Written by a world-renowned expert in perinatal pharmacology, this essential reference contains current, complete, and evidence-based information on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. Because so many women ingest medications while breastfeeding, one of the most common questions encountered in pediatrics is: Which drugs are safe and which are hazardous for the infant? This 2021 edition has been extensively revised, and now includes 50 completely new and 356 updated medications, and state-of-the-art coverage of multiple diseases, vaccines, and syndromes. It addresses the use of radiopharmaceuticals, chemotherapeutic agents, and vaccines in breastfeeding mothers, and covers adult concerns, methods of reducing risk to infants, and infant monitoring"--Publisher's description.
Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation by Gerald G. Briggs; Roger K. Freeman; Craig V. Towers; Alicia B. Forinash
ISBN: 9781496349620
Publication Date: 2017-05-25

LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
Find information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Web Resources

The InfantRisk Center
The InfantRisk Center (IRC) is a world-wide call center presently in the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, in Amarillo.