LibGuides: Student Resources: Internal Medicine

Resources & Databases

Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window Clinical decision support system includes 13,000+ topics, guidelines, tools, and images covering common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians encounter daily. Every recommendation includes strength-of-evidence rating. Access POEMs (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) Research Summaries and set up email alerts by registering for a MySTAT!Ref account.
- This link opens in a new window

POEMs | Essential Evidence Plus | STAT!Ref POEMs (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) Research Summaries provide the most recent, relevant research from over 100 journals and are accessible via email alerts or the archive included in the Related Contents section of the database. Register for a My STAT!Ref account to set up the POEMs alerts and access the database via the STAT!Ref Mobile App.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
- This link opens in a new window
View Quick Reference Card (PDF), watch UpToDate video demonstrations.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
- This link opens in a new window
View more information about the Sept 1 ClinicalKey Security Upgrade and MCW's ClinicalKey subscription, including setting up an account and using images.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window Contains the full-text of primary care, nursing, and health science writing texts. Also includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Evidence Alerts, EBMcalc, Current Procedure Codes with RVUs, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, and ICD Code Conversion Tools.
- This link opens in a new window
Platform upgrade live on 9/9/19. See here for more information.

In the Clinic: Annals of Internal Medicine

Related Guides

LibraryTW@mcw.libanswers.com

Front desk: (414) 955-8300

Reference: (414) 955-8302

Welcome!

Library resources for the Internal Medicine Clerkship.

Textbooks

Review Books for Step 2 CK
Search for Step 2 CK review books in the MCW Libraries' collection.

Books used during the Internal Medicine clerkship. The following e-books are accessible from off-campus by logging in to the MCW Libraries proxy server.

Case Files - Internal Medicine by Eugene C. Toy; John T. Patlan
Click on the Sign In link or Bookshelf tab and use your off-campus access login credentials to access access your personal ebrary bookshelf account and to download the book.
Lange Q&A : USMLE Step 2 CK by Carlyle H. Chan
Click on the Sign In link or Bookshelf tab and use your off-campus access login credentials to access access your personal ebrary bookshelf account and to download the book.
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence Based Guide by Scott D.C. Stern, Adam S. Cifu, Diane Altkorn
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis by Steven McGee
Register for an account in ClinicalKey to download book chapters for most books.
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by Malcolm S. Thaler
ECG-2014-Pocket Brain by Ken Grauer

Recommended Journals

Journal recommendations are provided by the directors of the Internal Medicine Clerkship.

Click the journal cover to view the journal's most recent table of contents in BrowZine. To add a journal to your personal bookshelf, sign in to your account and click ADD TO MY BOOKSHELF.