LibGuides: Scholarly Concentrations/Pathways: Bioethics and Medical Humanities

Need Help?

Do you have questions about Scholarly Concentrations? Contact the Office of Student Scholarly Activities at ossa@mcw.edu.

Do you have questions about this LibGuide? Contact MCW Libraries at LibraryTW@mcw.libanswers.com.

Recommended Databases

You may want to search a variety of databases to find different perspectives on your research project. These are a few places to get started.

In most of these databases, you can use the Get It From MCW Libraries button to connect to the full text of the article or to request a copy of an article through Library on Request.

PubMed LinkOut Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Ovid MEDLINE Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
Scopus Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
Cochrane Library Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Library Catalog Search MCW Libraries collections of journals, electronic and print books, and archival materials, and perform searches in databases such as MEDLINE, ScienceDirect and Academic Search, as well as the collections of libraries worldwide.

Citation Managers

Citation managers are used to help you keep track of sources as you search for literature. You can collect source information from many different databases and websites, organize the sources into folders, and create bibliographies.

Journals

Use BrowZine to discover journals in the field of clinical education. You can add a journals to your personal bookshelf, sign in to your account and click "Add to my Bookshelf." Learn more about BrowZine.

Contact Us

LibraryTW@mcw.libanswers.com

(414) 955-8302

Recommended LibGuides

Literature Searching LibGuide
More information and video tutorials on literature searching, choosing a database, filtering your results, and citing in AMA Style.
Find Full Text
Find out how to access full text journal articles from MCW Libraries' collections.
Database Comparisons
A comparison chart to learn more about some of our most popular databases and when to use each resource appropriately.
Guided Literature Search
This guide is meant to take you through the process of developing an advanced, robust literature search.