LibGuides: Scholarly Pathways: Urban and Community Health

Page Navigation

Recommended Databases

You may want to search a variety of databases to find different perspectives on your research project. These are a few places to get started.

In most of these databases, you can use the Get It From MCW Libraries button to connect to the full text of the article or to request a copy of an article through Library on Request.

PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Search MCW Libraries collections of journals, electronic and print books, and archival materials, and perform searches in databases such as MEDLINE, ScienceDirect and Academic Search, as well as the collections of libraries worldwide.

Citation Manager

Citation managers are used to help you keep track of sources as you search for literature. You can collect source information from many different databases and websites, organize the sources into folders, and create bibliographies.

Community Health Project Websites

The Community Guide
The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.
CES4Health.info
Use this site to generate ideas for community health projects, and to publish information on your project.
CES4Health.info is a free, online mechanism for peer-reviewing, publishing and disseminating products of health-related community-engaged scholarship that are in forms other than journal articles.
Community Tool Box
Find help assessing community needs and resources, addressing social determinants of health, engaging stakeholders, action planning, building leadership, improving cultural competency, planning an evaluation, and sustaining your efforts over time. This site was developed by the University of Kansas.

Milwaukee Neighborhood Resources

Health Compass Milwaukee, 2021 demographic data

Encyclopedia of Milwaukee, Comprehensive coverage of the history of Milwaukee, includes llustrations, historical and contemporary maps, and bibliographic materials.

Milwaukee Neighborhood Living, City of Milwaukee

Milwaukee County Historical Society

NEIGHBORHOOD IMPACT REPORT: 2016 (PDF), Greater Milwaukee Foundation

Demographic Information

CDC Division of Community Health (DCH): information from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Wisconsin Department of Health Services: Data and Statistics: health disparities, disease data and statistics, data on public health issues
Healthiest Wisconsin 2020 Baseline and Health Disparities Report, published in 2014. Most information comes from 2010 census.
Census.gov Data Tools, Use Quick Facts to explore by zip code or city.

MeSH Terms

Controlled vocabulary terms used by PubMed and Ovid/MEDLINE, related to community health.

Primary Health Care: Care which provides integrated, accessible health care services by clinicians who are accountable for addressing a large majority of personal health care needs, developing a sustained partnership with patients, and practicing in the context of family and community. Link to MeSH description.
Community Health Services: Diagnostic, therapeutic and preventive health services provided for individuals in the community. Link to MeSH description.
Community Health Planning: Planning that has the goals of improving health, improving accessibility to health services, and promoting efficiency in the provision of services and resources on a comprehensive basis for a whole community. Link to MeSH description.
Community Medicine: A branch of medicine concerned with the total health of the individual within the home environment and in the community, and with the application of comprehensive care to the prevention and treatment of illness in the entire community. Link to MeSH description.
Healthcare Disparities: Differences in access to or availability of medical facilities and services. Link to MeSH description.
Health Status Disparities: Variation in rates of disease occurrence and disabilities between population groups defined by socioeconomic characteristics such as age, ethnicity, economic resources, or gender and populations identified geographically or similar measures. Link to MeSH description.
Medically Underserved Area: A geographic location which has insufficient health resources (manpower and/or facilities) to meet the medical needs of the resident population. Link to MeSH description.
Minority Health: The concept covering the physical and mental conditions of members of minority groups. Link to MeSH description.

Recommended LibGuides

Literature Searching
Learn more about how to use library resources to search for clinical information.
How Do I...?
Find out how to access and connect to MCW Libraries resources, as well as information about finding articles and books in our collection.
Database Comparisons
A comparison chart to learn more about some of our most popular databases and when to use each resource appropriately.
Guided Literature Search
This guide is meant to take you through the process of developing an advanced, robust literature search.

Community Health Journals

Use BrowZine to discover journals in the field of community health. You can add a journals to your personal bookshelf, sign in to your account and click ADD TO MY BOOKSHELF. Learn more about BrowZine.

Additional journals