LibGuides: Scholarly Pathways: Global Health

Recommended Databases

You may want to search a variety of databases to find different perspectives on your research project. These are a few places to get started.

In most of these databases, you can use the Get It From MCW Libraries button to connect to the full text of the article or to request a copy of an article through Library on Request.

PubMed LinkOut This link opens in a new window Search MEDLINE for biomedical literature. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Search journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published worldwide. Ovid, like PubMed, is a search interface to MEDLINE. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Search MCW Libraries collections of journals, electronic and print books, and archival materials, and perform searches in databases such as MEDLINE, ScienceDirect and Academic Search, as well as the collections of libraries worldwide.

Citation Manager

Citation managers are used to help you keep track of sources as you search for literature. You can collect source information from many different databases and websites, organize the sources into folders, and create bibliographies.

Journals

Use BrowZine to discover journals in the field of clinical education. You can add a journals to your personal bookshelf, sign in to your account and click "Add to my Bookshelf." Learn more about BrowZine.

Websites

MeSH Terms

Controlled vocabulary terms used by PubMed and Ovid/MEDLINE, related to global health.

Global Health
A multi- and interdisciplinary field concerned with improving health and achieving equity in health for all people. It transcends national boundaries, promotes cooperation and collaboration within and beyond health science fields, and combines population-based disease prevention with individually-based patient care.
Global Burden of Disease
Use of various metrics to measure death and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors for all regions of the world.
Health Equity
Opportunity to attain full health potential and no one is disadvantaged from achieving this potential because of their social position or other socially determined circumstance.
One Health
An integrative effort of multiple disciplines working collaboratively and locally, nationally, and globally in all aspects of health care for humans, animals, and the environment.

Recommended LibGuides

Literature Searching
Learn more about how to use library resources to search for clinical information.
How Do I...?
Find out how to access and connect to MCW Libraries resources, as well as information about finding articles and books in our collection.
Database Comparisons
A comparison chart to learn more about some of our most popular databases and when to use each resource appropriately.
Guided Literature Search
This guide is meant to take you through the process of developing an advanced, robust literature search.