LibGuides: Pediatrics: Nursing Resources

About Nursing Resources

Here you will find pediatric nursing-centric resources, including databases, e-books, and e-journals. This page is an abbreviated version of the MCW Libraries Nursing Resources LibGuide which contains resources pertaining to literature searching, evidence based practice, patient education, and drugs and medications.

MCW Libraries uses OpenAthens to connect users to library resources. Most Froedtert and Children's Wisconsin employees, and MCW volunteer or adjunct faculty are eligible for access to MCW Libraries' subscription resources. Complete the registration form to request an account. After we verify your status, you will receive an email with access instructions.

If you encounter any problems, please contact the library here.

Learn more about OpenAthens here (MCW Employees) or here (Non-MCW Employees).

Finding Information - Videos and Tutorials

PubMed for Nurses
Refresh your PubMed search skills by trying out the "PubMed for Nurses Tutorial." The tutorial is designed specifically for nurses and consists of short videos, quizzes and activities. In less than 30 minutes learn how to set up a search in PubMed, use filters, find clinically-relevant articles and use MyNCBI to save searches and citations.

E-Book Collections

MCW Libraries provides access to hundreds of electronic books including nursing management and practice textbooks.

Books@Ovid Includes electronic versions of over 150 important and trusted reference textbooks from a variety of medical and health science disciplines.
ClinicalKey Featuring topic pages, books, journals, medical and procedural videos, millions of images, content from First Consult, and much more. Account registration required for access to book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other features.
Mobile App Installation Instructions:
1. Create an account in ClinicalKey. You must create your account on a computer or tablet connected to the MCW network either on campus or off campus while logged into OpenAthens. Click Register in the top, right corner of the screen and fill out the form.
  1. Use your affiliated institutional email address (MCW, Froedtert, or CHW) to create your account.
  2. Activate your account through a confirmation email.
  3. Apply for Self-Managed Remote Access to view all subscribed content when off campus. See the ClinicalKey Information/FAQs guide for instructions.
2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the ClinicalKey Mobile App on your mobile device from the App Store or Google Play.
3. Launch the ClinicalKey app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.
Please note - To maintain your free app, you will need to log in to the ClinicalKey website with your account every 180 days.
Ebook Central Growing multidisciplinary e-book collection from leading academic publishers. Click on the Sign In or Bookshelf tabs and use your off-campus access login credentials to access your personal Ebook Central bookshelf account and special features.
See ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide for more information
STAT!Ref Contains the full-text of primary care, nursing, and health science writing texts. Also includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Evidence Alerts, EBMcalc, Current Procedure Codes with RVUs, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, and ICD Code Conversion Tools.
Mobile App Installation Instructions
1. On a computer or tablet, create an account in STAT!Ref. View directions (PDF) for creating an account.
2. Once you have a username and password, you can download the STAT!Ref Mobile app on your mobile device from the App Store, Google Play, or Amazon.
3. Launch the STAT!Ref app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.
4. Link to further instructions: http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html
UpToDate Clinical information resource designed to provide health care professionals concise, practical answers needed at the point of care.
Mobile App Installation Instructions
1. Go to UpToDate and click Log In in the top left corner on your tablet, or Log In / Register in the top right corner on your computer.
2. Once you have your account created, download the UpToDate app on your mobile device. Links to the app can be found here.
3. Install the app and sign in using the username and password you created.
*If you already have an UpToDate account, you do NOT need to create another. Users may want to update their e-mail or username by logging in and changing them (e.g., jdoe@mcw.edu) in the Contact Information or User Name and Password section.

E-Journals

Use BrowZine to stay current with nursing journals. Select a popular nursing journal to get started, or see links to all pediatric and multidisciplinary nursing journals below.

Evidence Based Practice Databases

Use the following citation databases and other tools to find journal articles including research and peer-reviewed articles. Click here to see a complete list of MCW databases and resources.

CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature database.
PubMed LinkOut
Compriseds more than 38 million citations for biomedicatl literature from Medline, life sciences journals, and online books. Includes links to MCW Libraries' journal subscriptions.
See our PubMed LibGuide for helpful information.
Embase Search biomedical literature from 1947 onward, including pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and clinical medicine. Includes 3,365 journals not indexed in MEDLINE.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provided by BadgerLink, this database provides more than 350 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and also features abstracts and indexing for over 830 journals.
Cochrane Library
Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. (HTA).
Scopus
Citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from over 5,000 international publishers.
Web of Science
Subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1998-present). Indexes 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Provides Cited Reference Searching and Times Cited data.
BadgerLink
Links to EBSCO databases of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other reference resources provided as a service of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

Top Recommended LibGuides

Nursing Resources
View the full MCW Libraries Nursing Resources LibGuide here.
Evidence Based Practice
An overview of EBP and relevant resources.
Find Full Text
Citation Managers
Learn more about the citation managers that MCW Libraries provides training for.
Literature Searching Guide
Learn more about how to use library resources to search for clinical information.

Pediatrics

Librarian

Contact Us