Please Note: Froedtert Health has implemented a new security protocol which has resulted in the degradation of on-campus access to MCW Libraries' electronic resources. Users on the Froedtert network must sign in via OpenAthens when attempting to access electronic library resources (including UpToDate, VisualDx, etc.). MCW Libraries is aware of this change and is working to provide a permanent access solution. If you have MCW credentials, please sign in via MCW employees and students when prompted. If you are a Froedtert employee, click here to register for an OpenAthens account or view more information.
Please note: This guide is no longer being updated and will be removed on Oct. 1, 2019.
Please use this guide instead, Pharmacy Resources, and update your bookmarks to the new URL: http://mcw.libguides.com/pharmacy/drug-information
This chart will help you to become familiar with the components of tertiary resources and recognize which resource would be best used for answering various drug information questions.
*An asterisk means that this is a subscription resource and users must access it from an institutional network or by logging into the proxy server.
|
|
Micromedex |
Lexicomp * |
(free registration) |
||||
|
Drug IdentificationA |
Comprehensive drug identification; including US and foreign drugs |
Drug I.D. section along the top blue bar for unknown pills/tablets. Within a monograph, there is an “Images” tab with color pictures of tablets and manufacturer |
Linked through lexicomp
|
Through DailyMed as a link; includes descriptions of medication in package inserts |
No information |
No information |
Pill ID; pill pictures in monograph |
|
Information on Drug Interactions |
Drug-Drug, Drug-Food, Drug duplications, interactions with allergies, ethanol, laboratory tests, tobacco, pregnancy, lactation |
Drug-Drug, Drug-Food, Drug duplications, interactions with allergies, ethanol, laboratory tests, metabolism/transport interactions, pregnancy, lactation, dental procedure information. Can search for specific adverse reaction via “Drug Reports” function |
Linked through Lexicomp. |
Lists select Drug-Drug, Drug-Food, and Drug-Herbal interactions |
Drug-Drug, Drug-food, Ethanol, tobacco, |
No information |
Interaction checker available; drug interactions listed in monograph with categories: avoid/use alternative, monitor/modify tx, caution advised |
|
Laboratory Information |
Individual laboratory value monograph provided |
Information within monographs available as applicable when a medication requires increased laboratory monitoring or interferes with certain laboratory testing. Contains lab monographs. |
Monitoring laboratory values included; including values; linked with lexicomp |
Information regarding effects of medication on lab tests included with some monographs |
Labs to monitor provided without values |
Provides general disease state monitoring, but not specific medication monitoring |
Labs to monitor in monograph |
|
Types of Patient counseling materials and languages available |
Drug, disease, and procedural instructional materials Languages: English, Spanish, & 13 other languages. Customizable patient materials |
Extensive patient education section on conditions, procedures, healthy living, natural products, discharge instructions, and individual monographs for adult and pediatric medications. Total of 18 other languages. |
Drug, disease, and procedural patient education materials available for many topics. The Basics are available in Spanish. |
Includes patient medication guide |
Disease, Spanish and English versions, limited other languages |
No information |
Patient education section in monograph |
|
Information on Inert Ingredients |
Through Tox and Drugs product look up |
Not often reported unless they have clinical significance. |
No |
Yes, included
|
No |
No information |
No information |
|
Teratogenicity information |
Through REPRORRISK |
Gives pregnancy category and brief overview of evidence with references. Links within monograph other lexicomp resources on pregnancy and lactation. |
Contraindications are stated, as well as a pregnancy risk factor score. |
Yes, included |
contraindication stated, review of literature |
No information |
Pregnancy/Lactation section in monograph |
|
Breast feeding information |
Through REPRORRISK |
Monograph gives a short summary or statement on safety of breastfeeding with links for more information. |
Yes, included |
Yes, included |
Review of literature |
No information |
Pregnancy/Lactation section in monograph |
|
Provides Referencing for Information |
Extensive list of references to support data |
Yes. Extensive list of references to support data. |
Yes, includes citations to support information however, some information is not cited |
Yes |
Extensive list of references to support data |
Referenced in text |
No direct referencing |
|
Cost of the drug |
No |
Yes, when available. Also states if generic product formulations are available. |
Yes |
No |
No |
No information |
Yes |
|
When was the information last updated? |
Varies based on section |
6/29/17 as of check on 7/28/17 |
Not stated in a clear way, last package insert citation is dated Jan 2017. Price of the drug is updated monthly |
1/2017 Varies based on section
|
February 13, 2017 Varies based on section |
Latest edition: 10th, 2017 |
Last copyright date at bottom, but not clear for each monograph |
|
Medicinal Chemistry Structure provided |
Yes |
No, but the anatomic therapeutic chemical classification is given |
No |
Yes, included |
No |
No information |
No information |
|
Pharmaco-kinetic information |
Yes |
Yes. Adult data with pediatric data presented when available. |
Yes, linked with lexicomp |
Yes |
No |
Provides general pharmacology for the class of drug (dipeptidyl peptidase-4 inhibitors), but no specific information for Januvia |
Yes |
|
IV Compatibility |
Through Trissel’s 2 |
Yes, through Trissel’s 2 |
No |
No |
Solution Compatibility available through Gahart’s 2018 Intravenous Medications |
Storage & Compatibility section |
No information |
|
Investigational Drug Monograph |
Yes, readily referenced |
No |
No |
No |
No |
No information |
No information |
|
CAM Information |
Yes, AltMedDex |
Yes via Natural Medicines database |
Yes, via NCCIH, medlineplus, EMA, and other internet evidence-based resources |
No |
Textbook of natural medicine |
No information |
No information |
|
FDA Recalls |
No |
Not within the reference but has a link to the FDA recall website. |
No |
No |
No |
Special Alerts section |
No information |
|
Drug Shortages |
No |
Yes, within individual monographs |
No |
No |
No |
No information |
No information |
|
MSDS |
yes |
No |
No |
No |
No |
No information |
No information |
|
Cost of Resource |
Subscription required, various package prices available |
Subscription required, various package prices available |
Institutional subscription, free to affiliated users |
Free through DailyMed or manufacturer website |
Institutional subscription, free to affiliated users |
AWP pricing information |
Basic version (free registration); advanced version (epocrates plus ~175/year) |
|
Available Platforms |
Web-based, PDA |
Web, phone app |
Web-based, PDA |
Web based PDF, paper |
Web-based, PDA |
AccessPharmacy |
Mobile app, online |
A Search solid dosage forms by color, shape, imprint, scoring, image available
IV= Intravenous
CAM= Complementary and alternative medicine
MSDS= Material Safety Data Sheets
PDA= personal digital assistant
Chart adapted from: Abate, M. A. (2001). Drug information resources and literature retrieval. In: Pharmacotherapy Self-Assessment Program. 4th ed. Kansas City, MO: American College of Clinical Pharmacy.
MCW Libraries
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8300